Tranzscenic rail trip


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
November 5th 2009
Published: November 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Got all packed up and relaxed around the hostel until it was time for Carolin to drive me to the train station. Checked my bag and found my seat. The train isn’t very big and has an open air car at the back of the train where you can stand and watch the scenery. We stopped in a few smaller towns along the way. The train takes you right along the coast down to Christchurch. Great scenery, which is why they call it the Tranzscenic train. Saw lots of NZ fur seals playing in the water and laying on the rocks.

Once we arrived in Christchurch I got my bag and hopped into a $5 shuttle which brought me right to my hostel. I’m staying at Vagabond’s backpackers which is an older house turned into a hostel. Watched a movie after eating some dinner with some of the other people staying here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb