Whale Watching - An UNFORGETTABLE experience


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
July 2nd 2007
Published: June 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Vid Clip of Whale Watching










There are Things in LIFE
That will catch your eye
but only a few will catch your HEART
persue those.....





Christchurch the largest of all the South Island cities.
Population approx 330,000

With a backdrop of the beautiful port hills, Christchurch is the hub of the South Island with a very English style layout of the city with its Central Square and parallel streets running east, west, north and south. Most of the streets I have come across so far are all names from Northern Ireland, Armagh Street, Belfast Street etc ... and winding it's way through the city is the Avon river. CHCH is known for it's flat terrain unlike Wellington where everything is on a hill.



Arrived To Christchurch from Dunedin on Friday night, it rained for the whole 6 hour journey here, booked into Coachman Backpackers caught up with my mate Klye from Wellington who is from Bangor N. IRL, he is like my big big little brother I never had, I booked in and Klye took the car to park it for the night and we headed off
Whale Tail - KaikouraWhale Tail - KaikouraWhale Tail - Kaikoura

East Coast - New Zealand Kaikoura
to a bar as there wasn't much else to do in the rain, I was on for a quiet enough night but we met this random girl, Nelly from Samoa.... crazy girl but what a night we had... really went to town on the shots and cocktails, and a lot of fun.... think it took me ten minutes to realise where I was the next morning in waking at the hostel... where the hell was I (lost cans) in Waseelas in Dunedin, the car... a hostel... were there people in the room... pitch dark..then I remembered... yes I was back at Coachman’s!! Neither me or Klye even remember coming home or loosing Nelly and the only way we knew what time we got home was finding a Starmart receipt for 2 pies we got on the way home haha!.... Oh the night wouldn't be complete with out a trip to Starmart would it!!!

Anyway this is where all the fun starts with the car... I might add I haven't had any problems with the car until I met Kyle...

I had to get Kyle up the morning after the night before to get the car to head to
Whale Tail - KaikouraWhale Tail - KaikouraWhale Tail - Kaikoura

East Coast - New Zealand Kaikoura
Kaikoura as I didn't know where he parked it.....3 hours later Kyle arrives back to say it was towed but not to worry he had sorted it all out and he would be getting his money back on Monday (150 dollars)...no worries!!

I said how did it get towed...where did you park it....??

In a disabled spot................

I'll just move on swiftly from the above....Off we went with another guy from the UK to Kaikoura via Hamner Springs the next day I got up to head out Whale Watching and the keys of the car were gone...missing... so the lads stayed back while I went as they weren't to fussed on going, headed off out on an 18 meter Catamaran speed boat to spot some Sperm whales which we did and also sea lions, Albatrosses and dolphins, very eerie feeling to it allv

Spotted about 5 whales in all which was pretty good, just a pity we couldn't get too close to them. Definitely an UNFORGETTABLE experience

The guys collected me from the bus in the car so obviously found the keys... apparently they were in my bag.... but I think they just
Blow Hole from Whale - KaikouraBlow Hole from Whale - KaikouraBlow Hole from Whale - Kaikoura

East Coast - New Zealand Kaikoura
made that one up... on the way back to CHCH...admittedly I did get a speeding fine... no room for error here....96 in an 80... 120 dollar fine....I mean helloooo...and he wasn't listening to me saying...can you just give me a warning for this one officer..PLEASE!!!!

I've not long here in NZ but my aim is to get it quashed... and I will...hopefully.....anyone know any Kiwi police men...???

Handed the car back Monday morning and was happy to aswell..it's after costing me a fortune...


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Whale TailWhale Tail
Whale Tail

Whale Watch in Kaikoura
Whale TailWhale Tail
Whale Tail

Kaikoura
Whale TailWhale Tail
Whale Tail

Whale Watch in Kaikoura
Speeding FineSpeeding Fine
Speeding Fine

This picture cost me 120 dollars!!!! there was no sweet talking him at all.. Kaikoura
KyleKyle
Kyle

Kaikoura - East Coast NZ
Whales WatchingWhales Watching
Whales Watching

Kaikoura - East Coast NZ


9th July 2007

A giggle a day.......
Great entry!!! - that's not the first pic of cops on your tail - remember up the mountain 4am in the morning in Salta, Argentina????!!!!!! You mad thing!! I can just picture you, the first thing that goes through your head when you get stopped by the coppers - "must get a shot of this"!! Great to catch up with u this morning on chat! hope you still have plenty of your nine lives left!!! enjoy it!!
9th July 2007

whales
hey Brij! Thats great! I saw a whale recently in the River Lee. It was off a Raleigh bicycle! lol

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb