On the road


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Hokitika
March 12th 2009
Published: March 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello folks! Sorry about the delay, but I haven't been able to get online. I've been to Castle Basin and West Point in the last week. Castle Basin was in the middle of nowhere. West Point was too far from town, in the middle of the suburbs.
No pictures just yet.
At Castle Basin, we made topographical maps and walked for an hour through this narrow limestone cave that had a river running through it. The water went up to my chest. Really cool in that it wasn't commercially run. Just a stop off the road.
In West Point, we went to the most run down museum of ever been to called Coaltown. Ghetto. On a higher note, we went to this gigantic glowworm cave. Very very awesome.

I'm currently travelling to Harihari where we'll be going to a glacier. At this moment, I'm not sure if I'll have internet there. So, I'm writing to you from Hokitika at an internet bar. There's a WILD food festival going on tomorrow that we're going to try and catch. We're talking, huhu grubs, wallaby, ostrich eggs, frog legs, mountain oysters, and more wild food. Sounds like fun!

I'll try to get on again soon with pics. <3

Advertisement



16th March 2009

Thanks!
Thank you for my birthday call...sorry we weren't home, great pictures, hope to talk soon, looks like lots of fun!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb