Hokatika or Bust!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Hokitika
March 12th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Hokatika or Bust!


Hey All!

So here is part 2 of the post. Hope you all enjoyed the first part. I forgot to mention in my last post that before our big trip to the Catlans a bunch of us all went to see Katchafire (a fairly famous NZ band). The concert was amazing.

Anyway this past week I have started to get into the swing of having class a bit more but am still struggling to find the motivation at times. I am still having an awesome time just hanging around with my flatmates and other friends I’ve made. I have had the chance to check out some really cool cafes and just catch up on life in Dunedin. Wednesday I had a pretty crappy day as I found out that one of the classes I am taking might not allow me to get any credit and was also told by the doctor, who I finally went to see, that my Achilles (which has been bothering me for awhile) was either partially torn or really badly strained. This basically means no hiking or rugby for awhile…not good… but before you feel too bad for me I went to a PT today
Me driving on the Left side of the Road for the First Time.Me driving on the Left side of the Road for the First Time.Me driving on the Left side of the Road for the First Time.

[Note: the driver sits on the right side of the car...crazy huh??]
for a follow up and he thinks I have just aggravated the sheath around my Achilles which means a much quicker recovery!!! YAY! I also had the chance (before I tweaked my Achilles again) to go play some rugby with the university team which was so much fun. Hopefully I will be back playing with them soon.

BIG news on Thursday was that I bought a car!!! Yeah crazy I know but everyone says it is the way to go to get around NZ and because there is such a big market for it we were able to get one for really cheap. Scott, my roommate from New Zealand, Susannah, a friend who goes to Northwestern, and I went in on our gorgeous $650 1986 Mitsubishi Gallant Sigma, which runs surprisingly well. We had it checked out and it actually just had quite a bit of work done on it…so Friday, after getting insurance, we took it for a drive. Not just any drive though Susannah, Susan, Amy and I set off on a 1,130 km drive (round trip) literally across the country to the Hokatika Wild Food Festival for the weekend. I drove on the left side of the road (on the right side of the car) for the first time and in totally drove for about 12 hours this weekend…what better way then to learn but by doing! It actually wasn’t that bad I was really comfortable with it after the first 100ks or so…although still just have to remind myself to stay to left (To the left…to the left …Beyonce anyone??) while traveling through intersections. J Anyway this Festival is HUGE! It was so much fun. Everyone basically camps out for the weekend and spends all of Saturday in this big field trying all sorts of bizarre food, dressed up in costume, while listening to great music. It was pretty insane. I got up enough guts to eat an ostrich burger, a sheep testicle sandwich, and worms in a chocolate truffle…pretty gross huh?? But you know what they say…when in Hokatika…do as the Hokatikans(???) do!?!?. Oh and you will never guess but I bumped into James Bode a kid who I went to high school with who I haven't seen since then on the street in Hokatika...small world huh?? At night we all went down to the beach and there were about 50 bonefires going it was so mcuh fun. Haha Anyway it was a lot of driving but a great weekend all in all.

I hope you are all doing well. I will be sure to post soon. Miss you all and love you lots!

Em

Here is a map of the trip... http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_3bK.html



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Eating a Sheep Testicle Sandwich.Eating a Sheep Testicle Sandwich.
Eating a Sheep Testicle Sandwich.

EWWWWW! (hehe no pun intended...sorry Sarah i had to steal it)
Preparing Sheep TesticlesPreparing Sheep Testicles
Preparing Sheep Testicles

It was a good thing I didn't see this until after eating them!
Brick WallBrick Wall
Brick Wall

Part of the costume contest at Hokatika Wild Food Festival
Where's Waldo?Where's Waldo?
Where's Waldo?

Part of the costume competition at Hokatika!
James Bode and I.James Bode and I.
James Bode and I.

I have not seen this kid since high school and bumped into him on the street in Hokatika, New Zealand!!! Small world huh??


12th March 2007

Lordy
I like how I go abroad to Paris and eat cheese, wine and you go abroad and eat ostrich and testicles! Haha. I hope you brushed your teeth real good afterwards! I love all your photos and it looks like so much fun! Oh and p.s. I know we have lots of fun speaking in our "propah brittissssh acCENTS" but it'd be really cool if you could come back with a Kiwi accent. Think you can swing that one for me?!! Keep having fun!
16th March 2007

damnnnn
Testicles Emily? wowowowow That's priceless. It looks like you are having so much fun in NZ! In CT we are getting a foot of snow right now so I am so excited to leave for DC on Tuesday for Rugby. I hope that your Achilles is not too damaged :) Enjoy! Elise
19th March 2007

ENVY!
Have been following your adventures-scenery is amazing and we are all still wondering how you have time or the inclination to do any work! The ground was covered with snow for our annual St. Patrick's Day dinner. Wish we'd had some of those delicious testicles. Yummy. Love from Brian, Ian and Linda

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb