Up, Up And Away


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
November 18th 2013
Published: November 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

For every holiday there are a couple of things on a list that originally made you want to go to that particular place.... a new trail.... a new people or custom.... or in my case for this particular holiday, a new landscape. Something so far removed from my norm that it gets the imagination running. Something never before seen or experienced that it leaves you speechless, breathless and giddy with a the perceived freedom that comes with it.

And it nearly didn't happen...

When I arrived in Franz Joseph the clouds were rapped tightly around all the peaks making it almost appear like a misty plain. One of the main driving factors for me to visit New Zealand had been to get out on a glacier, preferably by helicopter (which I had also never been in), and was my final large expense of the trip. Forking out a bucket load of money to see some clouds is not my idea of good value though and I was nearly disenchanted enough to write the visit off as a failure. Speaking to the flight operators in the afternoon, I booked for as late as possible the following day in the faint hope that the morning clouds would burn off and the rain clouds would dissipate throughout the day. At least they mentioned that if it wasn't worth going up then they don't go and therefore don't charge you. Little compensation unfortunately.

Rising early the next morning and heading to the pub (I know that sounds bad), the sky was still obscured and the mountains along with them. The reason for the pub? The All Blacks, New Zealand's rugby union team, had played in England and the replay was showing at 8am. I would've loved to have been able to experience the atmosphere of a live All Blacks game in their home home country while I was here but this was the next best thing. Squeezing into the venue with a mixture of locals, Kiwi holiday makers, the odd English traveller, and me, the lone Australian, was brilliant. The beer flowed, the Englishmen chanted as they staged a valiant comeback, and the New Zealanders reveled in the All Blacks victory. So 2 hours passed without me even looking out the window. As the crowd erupted onto the street, I followed caught up in the general merriment, before remembering my main purpose. Looking up.... the cloud had burnt off and the mountains were staring majestically back at me.

Not knowing if I was going to get a better opportunity, I straight to the flight office and rescheduled to join onto an 11am flight.

I never realised that helicopters were so smooth.... before you know it, you see the ground move away from you and the world tilts slightly... and then you're flying. It's a surreal feeling that I'm sure is part wonder, part expectation and all relief of being able to fulfill another bucket list item.

I'm not even going to try and talk about the scenery except to say that think of all the best words in any language.... then multiply that into feelings... and it still doesn't even come close. I'll go as far as to say that the day ended up perfectly clear by the time we got up there. for the rest, I'll let my pictures speak for themselves (a great injustice in my mind but they will have to do).



Feeling all chuffed, I was back at the pub for the afternoon to carry on the cheer of the morning.... brilliant day!!

The next morning the clouds were back and I did a little happy dance that I had been so lucky to have gotten the perfect timing. Made for a lovely drive up the West Coast though, and before I knew it, I was turning off to do my final alpine crossing of the trip. Picking up Simone, from Quebec, Canada, for some company up to Arthur's Pass, we managed a quick conversation about previous travels and what was next before the scenery took over again. I must've said it a dozen times now but it still blows me away that every corner in the road seems to bring a new vista. It can be dangerous though, as a 2 hour drive can easily turn into a 5 hour drive when you keep stopping for photos.

Arthur's Pass is the highest of the mountain passes in New Zealand and it culminates in a viaduct bridging the span of the last section. With almost no vegetation at this altitude, the landscape is a stark reminder of the temperatures that are frequent here. Climbing back down the east side, I put some miles behind me so that I could reach Kaikoura the night.... those wineries in Marlborough I passed on the way down were calling my name.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



21st November 2013

Helicopter and glaciers!
Fabulous adventure--so glad the clouds cleared for you! Love those panoramas! Happy wine tasting!
21st November 2013

Thanks
Cheers Tara, I've been admiring a lot of your photos.... love the colour!!! South America is definitely on the list for me and your blog only further inspires... keep them coming!

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0966s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb