I love New Zealand!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
May 14th 2008
Published: May 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello my bloggers!

Sorry again about the huge delays between my blogs- internet in NZ is even more expensive than it is in Oz, saying that i'm SO happy to be out of OZ and here in New Zealand. The last thing I did in OZ was a Cape Tribulation through the Rainforests , and the Islands where Captain cook landed and it was really cool! The best thing I did there was go on a 4 hour cowgirl horseride through the Rainforest and beaches- it was just incredible. The horse that I rode was called Ned- aka- The Pocket Rocket- he wasn't very big but bloody hell could he gallop!! But as Mr Blue was exactly the same, (apart from the face he used to gallop and buck even when i didn't want him too !!!!) i absolutely loved it!!!

I've been here in New Zealand for just over a week now and it is absolutely freezing- but at the same time, absolutely gorgeous!!! I've done loads and loads of walks and hikes, climbed to the centre of new zealand up this mountain- i wish i'd had a walking stick for that one believe you me!!! Only having a total of just under 3 weeks here the scheduAL IS jam packed with only one night in nost places, only 2 nights in wellington and Queenstown as there is so much to do there! I've been to Aukland, Waitimo (where i went and saw some glow worms in a cave) Taupo, Wellington (where we stayed with Amy's cousin and had a room to ourselves and a big comfy bed and heating and a home made dinner- it was just an incredible evening for a backpacker!!) Then we crossed over from the ferry from Wellington to Picton- that was one HELL of a bumpy ride! The sick bags were in circulation, but i was fine!! A night in Nelson followed, then Greymouth (the place i stayed in there had a 'Nautical theme' it was quite odd going to sleep in a completely blue room with a huge painting of Nemo next to me- but also- quite nice in an odd kinda way!) And here I am in Franz Josef!!!

Tomo i'm booked in to do a Full day Ice Glacier Hike- now that is 8 hours on the ice - i don't know what I've signed myself up for- but hey- apparantly the pictures are gonna be AMAZING! I hope the person that told me that wasn't lying! Apparantly they cut steps out of the ice with a pick axe for us to climb up it- i hope they do small steps! But have free internet in this place so will blog it asap!!

I had some totally totally amazing times in Austalia- like driving 4x4 along fraser island, camping on the beach, being chased by dingos, canoeing throught the noosa everglades, seeing sharks and the reef etc etc, but also the accident I had in Melbourne realyl screwed up a lot of it and i was really close to coming home. Really close- but i'm glad I stayed- it is stunning here in New Zealand- everwhere that you look- and its really cold like england too- so a little bit of home comforts there too!hehe. Its crazy to think i'll be back in a month, i TOTALLY TOTALLY cannot wait, i have missed SO much about SO many things and people at home I'm so excited to see everyone and stuff- Not that i'm not enjoying it here, I am- much more than OZ, and am still really looking forward to the relaxation of Fiji, and especially can't wait for San Fransisco!!!!!!!! But still. I'm a home girl. I miss my mummy far too much!!

Anyways, need an early night sleep for the hike of hell tomo!!!!!
Sending my Nz love,

Marianne
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb