Dunedin


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
November 14th 2008
Published: November 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi I'm back again. Its a scorching hot day in Dunedin and I've just completed a 4 hour walking tour of the historic buildings so I decided to take a break from the sun. Dunedin is very like Edinburgh (very hilly!) I've seen the historic churches built by the early Scottish settlers and also visited an excellent museum all about how the area was settled by Scottish Free church pioneers. Soon I'm going on a steam train for what I'm told is a very scenic journey through deep river valleys.
Back to Queenstown. it certainly is the Queen of all towns. The scenery is outstanding I could have sat and looked at the lake for ever because it kept changng in different light. After my lazy Monday afternoon I did stir myself. Evening meal was in the fabulous Skyline Restaurant. The journey up by gondola was a bit scarey but great fun. the views from the top have to be experienced, especially at sunset!
On Tuesday I explored the town and then with trepidation queued up for the Shotover River Jet boat.If Del and Peter hadn't been with me I think I may have chickened out. Everyone else waiting was at least 20 years younger. any way off I went on the bus to the river. once there we were given no time to have second thoughts and we were away in minutes. I have to say I need not have worried I enjoyed it from beginning to end (even the 360 degree spins. I actually wanted to stay on!
Wednesday was a sedate day in comparison i went on the Lady of the Lake (a steam boat) for a fascinating cruise to the other side. then I met Rosslyn (a local) and she took me in her 4 wheel drive up to the ski area of the Remarkables. A terrifying journey with steep drops but the views were magnificent! she later took me back home and cooked a traditional NZ meal. Delicious!
On Friday we set off on a long journey via Kingston and Te Anau to the Milford Sound. The landscapes we passed through were constantly changing but all interesting. The last 20 miles have to be experienced to be appreciated. Wide U shaped valleys, towering Mountains with sheer bare rock faces. Clear streams and lakes with beautiful water all colours of green and blue. how the early settlers ever found a way through and how they dug the essential tunnel is beyond my imagination. Any way we made it through the area that is reknowned for avalaches in the winter through to the Milford Sound. Then followed a magnificent night cruise

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb