Taieri Gorge and Cadbury's (Not in that order)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
July 3rd 2007
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I dragged myself out of bed for the 9 am tour at Cadbury World, the factory in Dundedin. On my way over for breakfast I had an apple and a Cadbury Hazelnut brunch bar. More like a candy bar, but much smaller portion than in the US. It makes it almost healthy.

I wandered the displays while I waited for the guide, and they had a few puppet-Wonka-esqe ones. They also had employee PR up, as well as the connection of cocoa to the slave trade- sarcastic AND honest. Love these Kiwis and their history.

We watched a short video on safety, and then we had to take off all our jewelry and watches and cameras and lock them with our bags in a locker. They didn't notice my nose ring until we were already on our way- whew! We also put on hair nets since we were going into the actual factory 😊 But in trade we did get a chocolate fish (chocolate covered marshmallow) and a goody bag for the tour. All the guides wear purple overalls and hair nets, so they did kinda look like Oompah-Loompahs.

It was an hour of heavenly chocolate smells, and we saw how they make the hollow eggs, which until five years ago were still hand wrapped! We got four more hefty samples on the way: Dairy Milk Bar, Crunchies, Perky Nanas (banana flavrored- won't be eating that one), and Moro bars. Totally worth the $16 for the candy, the fun stories, and the 2 story voice activated chocolate-fall in the old purple silo. We yelled "I love Cadbury Chocolate" and down it came! I wish the NZ Cadbury's was sold in the US, the cows here are so happy, the chocolate is so creamy! Hershey's is awful after this. I will have to eat as much as I can before I fly out! I took a few funny photos with the giant bunny and purple antique cars before I left.

For lunch I followed the Lonely Planet's advice and found Potpourri's on the way back from the factory. It had all wood interior, very cute and vege/vegan, a bit of California on the Dundedin street. (Also the first time I had seen pizza advertised.) I spent $11 on vegetarian lasagne and a bottle of bitters. It was good! But I have noticed that in the way south they don't spice their food. I am constantly adding salt and pepper, which I never do in the States. I caught up on my journal (it seems to be one or the other lately). And I then I had a wander onmy way down to the Railway Station.

I found a NZ artist owned shop called Koru on the corner. I really wanted a NZ jade necklace, but none of the designs had really grabbed me. Until I saw a simplified elemental design- but then I saw a slighty more expensive double koru (wave/fern curl) that didn't meet in the middle, and I was sold. The artist running the shop gave me a discount to $130NZD, but I love it, it doens't look touristy at all! And it matches my eyes 😊 I think the yellow lab sleeping in the middle of the floor really sold me, and that the necklace was made in Hokitika.

I took some photos of the train station (the second most photographed building in the southern hemisphere- who figures these things out?) and the jail (still in use) and the court house. I love how the Victorian and Edwardian buildings are still used and intermixed with the new ones. I heard they are putting flats in the upped levels now downtown!

At 12:00 I got into my tiny claustrophobic seat on the Taieri Gorge Railway car, but soon the nice man moved me to an empty double table. The cars were all paneled wood with sliding windows that realy opened, and little wrought iron platforms at the ends. I was on the up and back trip, and hopped from side to side. The Gorge was yet another breath-taking exmple of New Zealand. The water was murky from all the rain, but the green grass and ferns, and white trunked elms (?) with red tips were amazing in the sunlight. All the schist was eroding into cuboidal stacks and overhangs, the kind a Hobbit might hide under, perhaps? At the end of the line at Pukerangi, the golden grassy hills with the snow capped mountains beyond and stacks of schist reminded me of when the remains of the Fellowship are chasing the Orcs with Merry and Pippen. I'm just sayin'......It was neat to see sheep in certain areas, and the old houses even remoter than the last. I even saw an overturned railcar and trailer in the river, rusted to bright red.

At 4:30 they dropped us at the station, and I hopped off in search of some noddles. The sandwich on the train ($4.50) was okay, but I wanted something HOT. Savoury Japan, near the Uni, had wonton soup for $7, which was just my style. I know, I am eating meat, but not that much! And when it is between 7 and 11 out, you need to stay warm! And maybe some extra fat 😊

And now I sit at Central Backpackers (shhhh!) using internet at $5 an hour, updating y'all on my adventures. Next shower, and bed. The bus leaves at 7:45 tomorrow for Christchurch! I bought a chocolate croissant for the ride at Brumby's Bakery ($3.80), and I think I'll need it😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb