Kitty Meow


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I saw the cutest black cat today on the bus ride. It was sitting on a fence attacking the blossoms on this tree. So cute!

I gave in and listened to 5 old PotterCasts today. I am so behind! I will have like ten more when I get back to CA...it is weird to think that the series will be over in a few weeks. I appreciate the fandom and all the WRockers, but I am glad I have only dabbled in it. It will be less of an undercutting to my whole life! But I will be preordering the "Trunk o'Series" as soon as I get back to the US! I guess I should preorder for the Harvard Book Store too, since that is where we'll be WRocking out that night 😊 I have to remember to get a CD player in my rental car too, can't read and drive at midnight!

Alrighty: had to be up super early this morning to meet the 7:45 bus to Christchurch. The bus driver was tre' weird; later I found out he was new. He made us get boarding passes, all the other drivers just checked my name off a list.

The sunrise at 8:15 am was beautiful, over a bay north of Dunedin. I took some spectacular pictures, then PotterCasted it for the five hours north. I was sad to miss all the live Casts and WRock shows while I am away, but HEY! I'M IN NEW ZEALAND!

Once I was finally in Christchurch, I walked the ten minutes to Stonehurst, which has a backapcker's all female dorm. It is AWESOME! Way better than Base. It is further from downtown, but it is on this cute park (Latimer Square), and is so nice. There is a huge kitchen and laundry, internet, and the girl's dorm is en suite. I lvoe that we have our own fridge too int the room. I recommend this place, four stars!

I stowed my bags since my room wasn't ready, and headed downtown. I wandered aroudn looking for a place to eat, but most were closed from 2-5:30 for dinner prep. I finally found an Indian place in a food court (not in a mall, but basically the same idea as the US, usually Asian food), and the owner hand made me naan while I stood there! The vege curry was amazing, especially for $7.50. Christchurch is growing on me. It is more like Auckland, however it still has lots of cool buildings like Dunedin, and not as pretentious as Queenstown. It has a lot more diversity too.

I stopped in this cute cafe to get a muffin and brownie for the early day tomorrow- 6:20 shuttle to the train station- only $6.50. It also gave me $2 coins for laundry...I also found a Gryffindor scarf! There are a lot of second hand stores here, and I found a made in NZ yellow and crimson scarf for $4.50. Perfect! Even though I found out today that Tonks is a Hufflepuff.

Laundry tonight, maybe some tv (shocking)- early early train tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb