Done with jetlag


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
September 15th 2017
Published: September 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I don't know where to start.
On Wednesday 13th September we went out with the bikes to buy food. The receptionist had shown us where the helmets were but we didn't take them.
We were cycling on the bycile path for about 10 minutes when suddenly, 50 meters from our destination, the police arrested us... It is strictly forbidden to bycicle without helmet here in New Zealand... He spared us a 55$ fine and just gave us a warning. We had to walk back home...
Lesson number 1: NEVER BYCICLE WITHOUT A HELMET IN NEW ZEALAND

On Thursday 14th September we went to the bank with the bikes and with a helmet on the head!
While shopping I discovered a fruit I had never heard of: Yak. It looks like big red larvae...

Today we went to the post office to ask for an IRD number because we have to pay taxes here...
On our way back to the hostel we stopped at the Re:start City Mall. It is an open air mall that is only made of containers. The mall that had been there before was destroyed during the earthquake in 2011. There are many small cute shops and some foodtrucks. I really liked the place.
In one of the shops I bought George. He is a Kiwi and my new companion for my adventure here.

I am positively surprised of the people here. They are so kind and help you for everything. I was offered a necklace from a man that sold traditional Maori figures. The symbol on it is called Manaia and is supposed to protect against the evil.
This man told us some more things about the Maori culture and I live it. I hope that I will soon learn more about it. He also showed us a green stone that can be found in the rivers on the West coast of the South Island. This stone is used for jewelry and statues.

Love it here,

Adela

Ps.: I have decided to buy a car... there is no good public transport here on the South Island, a car is the only way to see everything I want ^^


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb