Christchurch and Rugby


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
May 18th 2006
Published: May 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

KaikouraKaikouraKaikoura

This is along the east coast towards Christchurch.
Hi Everyone and Kia Ora!
This past weekend I went on a little road trip with a nice Scottish girl named Sarah. We decided to go to Christchurch for a rugby game. Since we both have never been to one, we figured we'd go and check out the Canterbury Crusaders. It so happens that they were playing the Brumbies, a nice Austrailian team so it was good rivalry. I can tell you that the energy in the area at the stadium was great! But I can also say that I was a cold night to be in an open stadium. There's nothing like doing the wave to get the blood pumping though. We had a great time, cheering and jeering during the game. The Crusaders came out on top and I was very happy to see a couple of my favourite All Blacks play live. We then went to a really nice Jazz Bar in Christchurch and then went back to relax at our hostel for the night.

So far as work, I have started pruning the grape vines here for Montana (the biggest winery in the area, maybe even NZ). It's hard work, and there are parts of my
Rugby!!Rugby!!Rugby!!

My view of Jade Stadium.
body that I didn't know had muscles. But the great thing is, is that I get to look at the snow covered mountains in the background. I never had a great appreciation for them, but I can't get enough of how beautiful they are. I'm really going to miss them when I get home! It had also cooled off here alot. I've checked into a local hostel because it's just too cold for me to sleep in the van anymore. I can say that I'm having a hard time adjusting to living with 30 other people in such a small space. Sadly, I have to live with smelly boy socks now. But for the most part, life is good. I'm planning on being here for a couple of weeks to save some money for Austrailia. Selling the van may be precarious at this point and time because it's pretty much winter, and the demand for a nice van like Pip is not like it is during the spring and summer. Such things you just have to deal with I guess! I know it's getting warmer in Canada and I'm so Jealous!! I'm green with envy!! I start off my day
Frosty MorningFrosty MorningFrosty Morning

This is about 6:30 am, and the vineyard I work at.
at 6:30 with a long sleeve t-shirt, a wool sweater, my fleece and of course my hat with ear flaps. But when you start to work, you strip a couple layers off and it's pretty nice about 15 I think it was today. But still......
Well, here are a couple of pictures from the past week.



Advertisement



18th May 2006

very cool
glad you experienced a rugby game. the vibes from the crowds cannot compare to hockey or anything else here that I have attended. They say the crowd at rugby is a lot like the crowd at a soccer game at home, and I have been there so I know how exciting it is! Beautiful pics. you're not missing much here, it's raining a lot and it's been 15 or lower, not very warm yet Miss u Jo

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1865s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb