I've decided to stay :)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
May 16th 2006
Published: May 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Shame on me for missing yesterday....but I do have pictures now!! Today was the first day in Christchurch rain-free so we actually got to get out and explore a bit more and I'm officially in love. This morning we walked to a museum to get in some maori/early british settler history in, and then Molly and I went and explore the botanical garden, which was on the same block. There were people canoeing, runners, old couples strolling around...it was really more like a giant gated park than the kind of botanical garden you would pay to get in to in GA. If I'm feeling really perky tomorrow morning I might go running there...
We had a few lectures today (on sustainable tourism and forest preservation), both taught by kiwis. I love the accent, so it kept me more attentive than usual. Tomorrow we have class from ten to five so I'm trying to psych myself up for a brutal seven hours of sitting. But on thursday morning we set off to do field work so at least we have some intense hands on experience to look forward to.
This morning, there was a band of little kids playing soccer in the square in front of our hotel. There's also a giant sidewalk chess board with two foot tall playing pieces for anyone who might want to play. And, every night (in the freezing rain), theres been a guy who stands in front of the church and plays songs like "a few of my favorite things" and "the ants go marching". Susan, if you're reading this...it reminded me of you.
We lost the scavenger hunt (I think it was rigged lol), and Molly and I trying to learn how to play pool. Apparently everyone on the trip is a professional except for the two of us. If only there were ping pong tables, then we could definitely hold our own. The pictures are just random shots from around town, and a few are from the Maori meeting house that we visited on Monday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb