Work and Wine in Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
April 20th 2006
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Alright Guys!! Its been a while i know and for that i am very sorry.

I have been getting a few concerned e-mails and texts over the past couple of weeks so thought i best fill you in on my whereabouts and let you know that i am still alive and kicking!

I am still woking away in Christchurch at The Viaduct. Its starting to quieten down a bit now winter is arriving but i am still managing to average 40+ hrs a week so all is good. I have now made some really good friends and really dont want to leave, so much so that i am currently looking into staying here a wee bit longer and cutting short my South American Adventure ( I can here you all screaming at me now - how long have i gone on about going to South America) but i am having such an awesome time that i cant see myself leaving in two weeks!

My average week pretty much involves work and wine! I usually work everynight except tuesday and wednesday. on sunday through to Wed i will finish about 11-11:30 and then we have staff drinks which often go onfor hours, even worse on a a weekend nights where the bar stays open until 5am, and its 6am by the time we clean up the carnage that is left behind so more often than not i will still have a glass of wine in my hand at 9am when the sun is shining and the mornig staff are arriving. Hence Sunday is my least favourite day as i leave work in the morning, go to sleep and then wake up and have to go straight back to work.

Last Friday night me and my friend Lucy (an English traveller like me) both got given Friday night off work so we went on a Christchurch pub crawl and went to all the bars in the area finishing in Di Lusso (a cocktail bar that is also part of The Viaduct). After a glass of wine in everybar, i think we got to 10 we were pretty trollied, much to the amusement of all our work mates.

My flat is an absolute pigsty, i am living with a very unhygeinic Irish guy and if i do end up staying longer i am definitely moving out. i dont spend much time there however so not that nmuch of a problem although i am too scared to even set foot in the kitchen and there is something growing in the fridge! all part of the fun though.

its really difficult to explain why i am having such a good time as all i actually do is work and then drink wine after work, sleep and repeat the process again, but the staff are so much fun i am constantly laughing. I couldnt sleep this morning so i got up early and went into town, bumped into my friend anna from work went for an early lunch. i am just loving the freedom of no resonsibility ( not that i have loads but you know what i mean!). Anyway, i am rambling rubbish.

I will try and sort out some pictures for you of where i work and all my friends so you can picture me her. Miss you all loads xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb