News flash, I'm back in Oxford...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
March 28th 2006
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

YikesYikesYikes

It's Oxford!
...well, not quite, sorry. I am in fact in Christchurch, but with my eyes half shut and my head on one side I could have convinced myself I was back: take a look at the pictures. It is not surprising that it is similar; Christchurch or ChCh, as the locals call it, was founded by some Anglican members/fellows of Christchurch (College), Oxford in the middle of the 19th century. I really enjoyed wandering around (and in and out of the Japanese tourists who arrived in swarms) this well-ordered city. It is built on a very Anglican grid system centred around the cathedral. I meandered into what used to be the University of Canterbury, where Rutherford conducted his preliminary experiments into splitting the atom; wandered around the very good Art Gallery; dallied in the Museum of Canterbury; lazed along the River Avon; and espied ruddy youths from the private Christchurch College doing their rugby practise in Hagley Park. There was a sniff of autumn in the air with the leaves turning and falling (and if I had smelt bacon I would have burst into "Autumn leaves and the grass is green")...naturally, I had a pang of homesickness.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb