Super Super 14 rugby


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Southland » Invercargill
March 26th 2006
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Line-outLine-outLine-out

Safe to say that the Highlanders won that one
Oh dear oh dear oh dear...starting at 10 a.m. from Queenstown to watch rugby in Invercargill that didn't start until 7:30 p.m....Fair enough it is an approximately 2-hour drive from Queenie to Invers, but that still left 7 1/2 hours in which to do what normally accompanies all-day rugby experiences. Yes, you've guessed it! Fish and chips in Bluff (NZ's most southerly mainland town) followed by face- (or other bodily-part) painting and cape-wearing at Old Marist RFC next to the stadium before actually attending the game itself.

True, I may have consumed one or more alcoholic drinks throughout the day, most likely since I was persuaded to have "Highlanders" (NZ team, for those not familiar with Super 14) written on my highly trained stomach (highly trained now in pie-eating, salad-dodging and Speights/Monteith-drinking) and "Cats" (South African team) written across my chest, which, as far as I know, is not highly trained in anything. This was just in addition to the highly fetching tartan motif I sported across my face in traditional Scottish blue and yellow, in a tribute to the original settlers of the area.

The "Cats" and "Highlanders" slogans got an airing at half time when a Sky
Bluff, Southernmost town of NZBluff, Southernmost town of NZBluff, Southernmost town of NZ

I'm closer here to the South Pole and to the Equator, than I am to London
Sports cameraman was doing shots of the crowd and I inadvertantly managed to flash my best Marks and Spencer apparel, along with aforementioned rugby team names, so that they appeared on the large screen in the ground. Unfortunately I do not have photographic evidence of this event, so you shall just have to imagine it. If however, anyone recorded the Highlanders v Cats game (I do believe it was available to watch on Sky Sports 1), I would be very interested to watch it (not least so I can see what happened during the game). As some of you know, and have personally experienced, I am not adverse to revealing items of clothing/parts of body at rugby matches, so please don't be shocked. My years at Cardiff Uni prepared me well for last Saturday's match.

I am actually surprised at how clear some of my photos have come out - believe me, it was more luck than judgement.

Oh, and the Highlanders won. 16-14.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Sign in typical? NZ pub (in Bluff)Sign in typical? NZ pub (in Bluff)
Sign in typical? NZ pub (in Bluff)

Plus poster of Highlanders


22nd April 2006

Glad to see nothing has changed Liz Biz! And I am glad to think that we did learn something in those three years at uni..even if it was just to remember to wear nice undies on match days!

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 20; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb