Snow in July...finally


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
July 10th 2009
Published: July 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

I suppose when drunken Americans come to a university, this is what remains in the morning
So after orientation on wednesday, I decided to take a little trip and help my flatmate Mike get his car unstuck from the snow. He had driven it halfway up to Broken River ski field and stopped because he couldn't make it the rest of the way without chains.

So we took the bus to city center in Christchurch and walked to the hostel where his friends were staying to get a ride from one of them. Another actually joined us to come help.

The ride to broken river was uneventful, and not very long (only about an hour 1/2) but I did get to taste some new zealand chips and a mince meat pie (actually realllly good). It took us a while to get chains for the guys car that we were riding in because the place that rented them out didn't have his size and the place we bought them from was another 30 Km towards the mountain. Eventually we headed up the mountain road to broken river.

It took about 45 minutes to get the chains on right (we didn't have any light and even less of a clue how to do it), but eventually success was ours. 10-15 minutes later and 7Km up the hill, we found Mike's car.

It was covered in snow and we had to dig ourselves a path (mind you this was 2 days after he parked it there) so we could actually move the darn thing. I thought these guys would know how to move a car in the snow (i.e. straight wheels, no turning until you get it into the street) since they were from new zealand. But I had to show them the old Boston techniques and pull it out for them.

This bolstered Mike's confidence in my driving abilities and agreed to me driving down the mountain. The road surface was packed powder, extremely steep and full of sharp turns, and we didn't have snow tires or chains. But I knew I could do it.

So I hopped in the driver's seat (which in the U.S. is the passenger side) and got ready to perform my proudest work of driving ever.

The first hill we encountered caused me to lose the brakes because my approach was too fast (5Km/h). I knew the anti-lock was not going to help so I employed the pump-and-release brake technique used on older cars. It worked, of course. We were in first gear the whole way so we had that to help us.

We crept down the mountain at what the speedometer said was 0 Km/h. It took quite a while and was a rush when we hit the steepest hills. When we hit the bottom, high fives were enjoyed and all was well.

By this time the moon had risen and it was about 8:45pm local time. The drive home was amazing. Unless you have been to New Zealand, you have never seen a view like it. There are no trees, but there are huge snow-covered fields that meld right into the mountains. With the moon reflecting off the snow creating an eerie-yet-breathtaking landscape, it's all you can do not to lose your breath.

The past two days, I've seen a lot of my bed and room because I've been a little bit sick and trying to recover. I don't have the flu, but I'm equally as immobilized. Your prayers would be much appreciated!

I did have to leave my flat to enrol in classes and enjoy some sunshine around campus. I just woke up today and was going to go snowboarding with my flatmate for some major powder, but his car was broken into in the night and he needed to take care of that.

A good day to you all!
Parker




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



10th July 2009

we are praying for speedy recovery
Parker, your blogs are awesome to read. What a life changing experience you are being blessed to have. Enjoy every moment Parker. Love Auntie Barb

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb