First Days at University of Canterbury


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
July 7th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Christchurch around 8:30 AM local time monday (after a 13 hour flight to Auckland and a 1.5 hour flight here) and I was totally exhausted. I met some other University of Denver students on their way to Christchurch to study abroad alongside me on the international flight. It was nice seeing someone somewhat familiar (I had previously attended classes with one of them) and sharing stories and hopes for the trip.

The 13 hour flight wasn't as bad as the 6 hour from Boston to San Francisco for some reason. Perhaps it's because the plane was much comfier and provided meals and drinks (had a glass of wine legally for the first time) or because I had a solid amount of sleep and entertainment on the Air NZ plane (free on-demand movies, tv and video games! Whoever thought of that idea was a genius.).

Anyway, Adrian and Morgan (the two DU students), two other students from New York and I arrived at the student center at Canterbury and had to wait with our bags for a few hours until our rooms were ready. So Adrian, Morgan, and I went to a local bar to get some food (because the restaurant wasn't open at noon). They had some beers (the time difference was the excuse haha) and we had some sandwiches since we were all starving.

Insignificant details aside, we had to wait a while until we could move in, but we had a good time together. I have a nice view from my room (which is huge by the way) and I'm extremely comfortable. The first night I got here, I went to sleep at 7 pm and didn't wake up until 7 am. So I got up in the dark, dressed, and went out to do some errands.

It was nice to walk alone so early. I was able to explore a little bit of the local area ( I was the first person in the hardware store of the day- Didn't expect all the "gidday mate!"s that I received). The architecture of the local homes as well as the vegetation remind me of Bermuda. I haven't been to Bermuda in a VERY long time (I was probably 4 years old the last time- also the first time) but for some reason I immediately thought "bermuda" when I looked at the houses, and smelled the plants growing.

I'm not feeling well, so I decided after my walk to stay in and organize my room (i.e. unpack). I skyped Emily ( my loving and attentive girlfriend) and went to a new-student barbeque to meet some more people- the majority of which are American.

I'm still coughing a lot and one of my flatmates has the flu, so I took a nap and I'm being super sanitary (washing hands about 89 times a day) because I reallllly don't want to get sick. My newest flatmate arrived today- but first I want to share that earlier today, when I pushed my snowboard under my bed I expected not to pull it out except for maybe 2 times the rest of the semester. When I met my newest flatmate, he changed that.

He just got back from snowboarding, and he was telling us about the adventure he had just been through (car getting stuck). He was telling me that the big resorts- mt. Hutt etc- weren't worth it and were too far away anyway. He advised that I go with him and get a private ski field pass (which is about 250 USD and is unlimited to 12 ski fields). He said there are so few people at the clubs and the hills are pretty big. What's the catch? Rope tows only.

That's no big deal, I've heard of the "nutcracker" clamps that you have to use and I'm prepared to go to whatever means to get some fresh snow.

Anyway, he is taking me up to Broken River on thursday to get a free day pass to taste the mountain. I can't believe how blessed I have been! That is correct: I'm going snowboarding on thursday.

I love all of you, you'll hear from me again in a few days!

God Bless,
Parker


P.S. I've included some photos of my room- I had to take them with my 55 mm

Advertisement



7th July 2009

Room looks good...
Skype tonight? Will put camera on....

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb