Callum and Ginny's Wedding


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
December 5th 2008
Published: October 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My friend Callum 'pyromaniac' Patterson whom I went to uni with was to wed his long time girlfriend Virginia 'too nice for Callum' Latimer in December. I decided rather last minute that seeing I didn't have a full time job I should go and see them tie the knot back in NZ. Thus an elaborate scheme was plotted with my mate Brendon 'Bdoggry' Hendog to arrive at the wedding unannounced. Brendon said that he would be bringing a 'date' so I took on the alias of Elizabeth. I wore it well. The plan went off without a hitch I even talked to Callum a few days before the wedding from Canada to wish him well so he suspected nothing. Hours later I boarded a plane to NZ.

Tired from a long flight but excited I met up with Brendon the night beforehand and hurriedly got a suit sorted. My jetlag was minimal as I had flown through the night and managed to get some sleep in between the hours of playing who wants to be a millionaire. It was great to see my family (Brendon you included) as it had been quite a while.

The following morning Brendon and I arrived in the city centre where a bus was to take us out to the venue in Ohoka. Fran 'Franimal' Robertson and Ben 'Rangi' Taylor were the first two of my mates I saw, Fran was shocked, Rangi kind of screamed. It's weird the different reactions people have when you turn up unexpected. David 'Shifty McNugget' Fitchett was next, he did a huge double take, it took him about five seconds to register that it was me. Fitch was playing the role of MC so took me up to see Callum, I'd like to report he was excited to see me but I think he was having a few butterflies. Makes a change from him trying to electrocute me when we worked together at NZ Cricket.

I also got to meet Rangi's new fiance Aimee, they are to wed next March so am looking forward to that.

The ceremony went fantastically, Ginny looked beautiful and Callum dapper. Don't tell him I said that though, he'll get a big head. The weather played its part, maybe a tad too much. I was the whitest person in attendance, Calgary winters do that to you. I had forgotten how harsh the sun is in the southern hemisphere and looked like a roast turkey the following day.

After Callum and Ginny had taken care of the business part it was time for champagne wine, beer and champagne ... and wine and beer. Many photos were taken including a shot of everybody in attendance, we started a human pyramid but it didn't catch on too well, so looks rather strange. We sat out in the sun reminiscing before it was time for dinner and speeches. Fitch performed brilliantly as MC having the crowd in stitches with stories about Callum and Ginny. A huge feast was eaten as amusing and heart felt speeches were told. With Callums exploits of old I thought the first wedding song might be party boy, It ended up being a more reserved number by Spandau Ballet. Things did get cranked up after that though and some superlative dancing was witnessed including Rangi, Bdoggry and I busting out 'The Blockbuster'. You'll have to see it to believe it. The bus ride back into town is a bit of a blur but I distinctly remember Rangi wearing lipstick. Good to see some things don't change.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb