Christchurch!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
March 14th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Very cool city. I could totally live here. However, Im not feeling particularly inspired to write about it at the moment as I have just taken a bus to get to this cave of an Internet cafe in the pouring rain which has reminded me of one of my perhaps quirkiest phobias- wet, enclosed, crowded spaces (this also includes things like wet tents with people I don't love in either a familial or romantic capacity, indoor pools, locker rooms, public showers AND public transportation in the rain). YUCK. EWWWWWW! Can you see me squirming?! I should have walked!!

This evening is actually the first time I have taken the bus in the four days I have been here. Sometimes I prefer to walk only because buses can take me further afield and get me more lost, more quickly but mostly I just enjoy seeing things by foot. Christchurch is an especially walkable town with Cathedral Square smack dab in the middle and the four main drags all bearing extremely British names forming a perfect box around it. The street food is yummy and deliciously international. I feasted on stir fry and sushi for the first few days before resuming my backpacker diet of peanut butter and bananas on tortillas. The plans for the city were all laid out in England and so there are an unusual amount of green spaces and public parks in the center of town. I went on a tour of the botanical gardens which features plants from all over the world but some particularly interesting tree species from China.

Besides my usual meanderings and stops at outdoor stores, cafes to order trim chai lattes and picnics in the various outdoor spaces I bought a new camera with which I am quite pleased. I also had another Drs appointment in which I was told to lower my thyroid medication again. I am now apparently definitively hypo-thyroid....whatever that means.

Most importantly perhaps, I met a neat German girl named Elisabeth in the hostel and we decided to go tramping for three days in Lewis Pass.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



15th March 2007

Hi Emily! I heard about your travel blog through Ashley, and I love reading about all your adventures!!! My mom and Daniella are both hypo-thyroid...so this must run in the family. You look beautiful as always, and I'm sending you a big hug!!! xoxox Naama

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb