Day 2 in Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Canterbury
September 5th 2015
Published: September 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

5th September 2015 -

Today I took a mini road trip into and over the mountains driving on Dyers Pass...

As my family know, I am no good with hill starts and oh my, this hill was huge! What goes up...must come down so they say! So that is what I kept thinking of! Despite all the hills, there was only one place I needed to stop and yes...I rolled back! But hey, it's my first time in an Automatic so I let myself off!

For anyone travelling this route, there are many places to stop and take some photos of the amazing scenery. Going up the mountain from Christchurch city, you can see the whole of Christchurch, it's surrounding areas and the beautiful snowy mountains in the background. Once you reach the top, the views are even more spectacular. Clear blue waters, surrounded my hills and mountains, in the distance you can see many beaches, bays and jet skiiers! The views were just unbelievable!

Unfortunately the harbour cruise was closed so I couldn't do the boat trip to Quail Island to see the dolphins, but I WILL GO BACK!

I then decided to come back into Christchurch and drive to "New Brighton" to see the results of the earth quake. It was not what I expected at all, there were a few bungalows missing, but there were more brand new bungalows being built! I then stopped off at the beach to see LOADS of dog walkers, took some photos and then went back to my car.

I decided to hear home via the shopping mall to buy a clothes airer and some coat hangers but I only came back with hangers as the cheapest airer was £25 and I'm not paying that when they are £5 in the UK!!

I then opened by own New Zealand Bank Account so I can get paid by my new job which took a while as I didn't have proof of address! I explained my situation and they said I can use my UK address...so note to anyone wanting to open a foreign bank account with no proof of address in the country they are travelling in...YOU CAN USE YOUR UK ADDRESS!!

I am now at home, and off to catch up on last nights Hollyoaks, Emmerdale, Coronation Street and Eastenders! Oh and then to Skype the famalam!

Thanks for reading and goodnight all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb