Kaikoura Adventure #1


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
September 6th 2015
Published: September 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So today I decided to go off an adventure to Kaikoura! My mum had told me to go here as it is an amazing place to see Whales, Dolphins and Seals...OH AND HAPPY FATHERS DAY TO ALL NZ DADS!

So the day started in a bit of a tiz as I needed to fill the car up, but had no idea where the fuel cap button was! I tried forcing it open with my keys, spend about 1/2 hour on the phone to my parents trying to find it and in the end it was under the arm rest on the door...hidden! Along with the boot button!

I finally set off, and I realised that this journey was going to be a long one....2.5hrs there and 2.5hrs back! Oh well, I had the radio to keep me company!

The views on this route are absolutely amazing, you drive between green mountains/hills and see so many different things from Springs, to Sheep to wildlife parks. I wanted to stop at all of them but I will save them for another day!

For most of this journey, there wasn't another car, house, person or animal in sight, just me and the open road! It was very peaceful and with the roads being very hilly and very windey, I could take them as slow as I wanted with out making other drivers angry! Haha.

In the distance I could see the snowy mountains, and around me was all green! It was a strange scenery.

Eventually I arrived at Kaikoura, skyped Chris to show him what it was like, to then turn my camera on to find out that the battery had exploded inside! This must have happened on the 30hr plane journey it took me to get from the UK to NZ! Oh well, it was time to use the phone.

I could see no animals yet so I got back in the car and drove for another 5minutes. I was shocked to see seals walking across the road and some were even sleeping on the road! I pulled into the car pack and there were so many seals in the most random places! I just wanted to go and stroke one but the signs warned me not to as don't forget, they are wild animals! After taking a few snaps I drove to the Whale Watching part of Kaikoura. I spent about an hour sitting on the beach in the freezing cold looking for whales but unfortunately there weren't any! So instead I went and bought some postcards to send back home and drove back off to Christchurch! There were a few other cars on the way home and yes, they all over took me!

I arrived back to my NZ home, bought a new camera on eBay and went to bed! Ready to start my first day at work the following day!



Oh and I plan on coming back here, but when it's not so cold so there will hopefully be some whales to see!!!

Goodnight all and I will write more on my next adventure at the weekend, wherever that may be!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb