Back to Arthur's Pass, my first real hike!


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Anat in 'Annat'Anat in 'Annat'Anat in 'Annat'

On the way to Arthur's Pass there's a tiny village named after me! (well, with a spelling mistake :-)
As I mentioned before, a new period in my trip here started. I am now traveling with an Israeli guy that Shiri & me met a few weeks ago. We discussed a bit and decided we have similar plans, we are both very flexible with the time, and we are both ready to spend money on wine, good food, etc... The only thing is that he did a lot more hiking than me, and now I am planning to do them too! No more only easy walks :-)
And the first "test" was right in the beginning: the Avalanche Peak track in Arthur's pass. It's a steep path climbing 1000m in a pretty short way... My god, it was hard! Took us 4.5 hours to climb, but the views from the top were amazing!!! It really worth doing it! We did it rather slowly, with many stops on the way, so I survived. And on the top we had lunch andthen hot tea with Tim Tam (again...) Tim Tam there tastes a lot better than anywhere else.

In the evenings we practice another new habbit: gourmet cooking. Well, relatively gourmet, I admit, but great food. For example steaks and baked
On the way to Avalanche PeakOn the way to Avalanche PeakOn the way to Avalanche Peak

I am still alive... Unfirtunately, in the pictures of the steep path, you can't really see how steep it was! So I put another one...
potatos, chicken breast with Portobelo mushrooms, and more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Almost at the peakAlmost at the peak
Almost at the peak

After having climbed 1000 meters
Kia - the only Alpine parrotKia - the only Alpine parrot
Kia - the only Alpine parrot

And a very "huzpe" one - can steel your stuff from your bag, gotta watch all the time!
Tea at the TOPTea at the TOP
Tea at the TOP

Erez carried the stove and all just to have that, and it was gooood :-)
A natural benchA natural bench
A natural bench

In Avalanche Peak


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb