And It Gets Worse


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Blenheim
September 3rd 2006
Published: September 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Eugh The VineyardEugh The VineyardEugh The Vineyard

See how pretty it is! Who would ever guess that such tragedies happened in such a beautiful setting!
Howdy

Well this week has gone ok, I guess! I finally got the hang of the vineyard work and now its ended, typical! I'm now making vineguards, which basically consists if folding peices of corrugated plastic into a triangle shape! You have to push flaps through little holes, and on Friday I made 800. Aren't I just the luckiest little bunny in the warren!! It really really sucks, and my thumbs were so sore I felt like I had trapped them in a door. Add to that the split skin around my thumbs and the sore skin on almost every finger, and my hands are a mess! However, relief is around the corner as this is my last week, yey!!! I really don't think that my hands will hold out to do the plastic-folding job, so I'm going to work (hopefully!) with Clemens for the rest of the week, starting Tuesday. He is wrapping, which is wrapping the vine around the wire. I don't think I'll earn as much money, but it will be worth it if it means that my nails don't fall off (i kid you not!). ANyway, he has to ask his boss first so we'll wait
Eugh The VineyardEugh The VineyardEugh The Vineyard

Look how far it stretches!
and see.

So predictably this week has been pretty flat. This weekend however, was lots of fun. I didn't do what I originally thought I would do but it was still really good. Friday came home from work and I cooked for Tania, Pablo, Clemens and Sekyoung (lem chilli chicken if you were wondering, my receipe, very tasty), and we all (me) got steadily toasted. Went out into the magnificant Blenheim, but when me and Clemens ended up in the nightclub Goats Don't Shave, we decided to go home (yes that is its real name!).

Saturday we had grand plans of doing the vineyards on bicyles, but then ended in hungover mush, and so me and Clemens played pool instead. I've never actually played pool sober before and I'm surprisingly ok!! Today was a gloriously sunny day and we spent it first of all on the canoes on the river, and then fetching and cooking a bbq, with some beers, watching the sun go down. Was all very nice and felt suitably relaxed, even if the sores on my hand made it almost impossible to hold the paddle!

Tomorrow we all face the prospect of yet another day at work, but for me this is made slightly easier by the thought that hopefully it will be my last! Oh, on good thing, I've jumped ahead of the queue a bit (by being cheeky and also a good fair amount of panicking) and I've upgraded to the bottom bunk, ta-da!! So now I can need to go to the loo in the middle of the night without worry, as i was constantly concerned that I'd fall off the ladder whilst half asleep! Pablo was a little surprised that he wasn't getting that bunk, but I swiftly moved my things there when he was out, so that decided that!!

Anyway, hope you're all well! I come home in about four weeks, no that's a lie about five so can't wait to see you all!! Take care, hope your weekends have all gone well!!

Lots oflove

Julie

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The RowsThe Rows
The Rows

No no stop, its all too much, like some horrible reoccurring dream!!


4th September 2006

Heading home eh?
Hello again, sounds like you're surviving - just. Spoke to Leyla in Preston yesterday, poor bugger had been travelling for about 40 hours so we just had a quick chat and the big one is now scheduled for Tuesday evening - I think she's going to Wigan to see Lauren today. You'll just miss them as they leave UK 13th for Cos then here about a week later, then back to Thailand in early October. Anyway must get off as we have a busy week and friends from UK arriving next Monday so somewhere this week I shall have to clean house. One day I could be cleaning 'cos you're coming! Love Pat

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb