Is this really traveling?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Banks Peninsula
March 14th 2008
Published: March 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

My first Kiwi friend...My first Kiwi friend...My first Kiwi friend...

My first night...I guess I'm up to my old tricks...meeting old men who enjoy whiskey and let me wear their cowboy hat! This one was a character with a good buzz and a strong accent. I decided I like New Zealanders.
I arrived in Christchurch, New Zealand and it all seems too easy! People speaking English, I know what to order at a restaurant, how to get around...it no longer feels like traveling, more of a holiday. But I welcome it!

Christchurch is the largest city on the south island of NZ. I took a couple of days here to settle in, get some city culture, running in the park, strolling through the botanical gardens, visitng the art gallery, making friends while drinking delicious chardonnay and eating the famous green lipped mussels at happy hour at an outside cafe, while listening to a 2 man band play on the street, then off to a theatre show, and after to meet the fore-mentioned friends and hit a jazz club, amongst others. This is a charming city with friendly people and lots of character, as well as British influence. But next, I'm off to the countryside....



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Here's a chess board!!Here's a chess board!!
Here's a chess board!!

Downtown square in Christchurch.
In Hagley ParkIn Hagley Park
In Hagley Park

Right by my B & B, where I enjoyed running and solo yoga.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb