Maybe I'll Catch Fire


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, i spent New Year's In Christchurch with my friends Flo, Sophia (met in Tui) and Lana, Emma and Sophie (met in Taupo). We did our fire spinning on New Year's eve and i did a little bit of fire breathing (went off without a hitch that time) a generally great night was had by all, and there will be photos at some point.
Spurred on by our success on New Year's Flo and I repeated the Fire spinning the next night. It was going well, i breathed a little fire, then Flo had a go. He set his beard on fire a little, but suffered no other i'll effects. Rather than taking this as a warning i continued fire-breathing. A little lighter fuel ran down my chin and across my face, and without warning my face caught on fire.
I don't know how long i was on fire for (it felt like a long time) but i managed to put it out by hitting my face with my palms. But don't worry! I'm ok. I've been a chef for a while, so gained a lot of knowledge about burns, so knew immediately that i hadn't done any great damage, just burned off the top layer of skin on my right cheek and nostril. I did it on wednesday, and today (sunday) it's not completely healed but isn't looking too bad. So don't panic, i'm fine.
In other news, I'm staying in the Bank's peninsula at the moment, on a nature retreat. But it's really really hot here (32 degrees or so) and i'm having to work outside, pickaxing and digging ground. The work is pretty rewarding, but the surroundings aren't particularly stimulating, so i'm reading a lot (The God Delusion is an excellent book and should be read by everyone, believer and non-believer alike by the way).
On Friday i make my way to Levin (where Alex lives) where i will be working at an organic festival which should be fun and i should be able to meet a whole host of other wwoofers from all round the world. After that i pick up my iPod (xmas present, woo!) from Alex and make my way south again.
Apolgies for the short email, once again i am in a prohibitavely expensive internet cafe (this time in Akaroha). Hopefully the next will be more expansive and will include pictures

Love and all that, Chris

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb