Abel Tasman National Park


Advertisement
Published: October 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

So on Thursday I joined Debby & Justin in getting a water taxi from Marahau up to Te Pukatea (via Split Apple rock). From Te Pukatea we strolled up Pitt Head & down into Anchorage Bay where we met up with Cora & Sandra for lunch (they were on the days sailing trip & our lunch breaks coincided!) I had a horse trek booked for later so I set off before them along the 11km walk back to Marahau along the coast track. It was a lovely walk with stunning forest and beaches along the way. I finally saw some fantails & silvereyes (both birds by the way) as well as more bellbirds. I got back with enough time to grab a quick cup of tea before heading off for horse riding at 5pm.

Four of us went horse riding with mixed abilities from complete beginner, to me, to two who had grown up with horses. We headed down to the beach for a bit first where the experts got to stretch their legs for a bit then other riders turned up so we decided to head off. Because we were all in "caring professions" as the guide put it he decided he'd take us for a bit of an extra trip up the valley & across private land (this usually costs extra I think) which was really nice. We ended up taking more than the 2h we'd paid for & by the time we;d brushed down our mounts, taken them out to pasture & crossed the roads back to our hostel it was around 8pm. Luckily for me I'd cooked for Justin, Debby & Cora last night & it was Justin's turn today so there was tasty curry waiting for me when I got in! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Observation CreekObservation Creek
Observation Creek

Not sure what you are meant to be observing though....
Another pretty bayAnother pretty bay
Another pretty bay

I lost track of which bay was which.
Arty horse shot!Arty horse shot!
Arty horse shot!

The trekking guide was a bit snap happy with the camera!


Tot: 0.604s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb