I blame Fred!!


Advertisement
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's all his fault that I was out at Deadman's Island until all hours when I should have been sleeping in early and preparing for the walk ahead. However, I think a garage has been found that will supply the part for your cortina Fred, so I may be able to return to the UK!!

At the moment I am at the end of day 2 of the Abel Tasman walk and it has been glorious! The weather is fantastic and the track is incredible, a path cut into the hillside which at times hits you with views of hidden little beaches. Beautiful! I have managed the wobbly bridge with the help of a Swedish girl - she didn't know she was helping, but then, ignorance is bliss sometimes! There has been only one moment which 'froze' me and I had to do an undignified bum wiggle along a very narrow part of the path with a sheer drop down one side. but I survived!! Tonight it is Arawoha Bunk and I am at the lodge at the moment where I have caught up on my need for caffeine Just at the entry there is a lovely organic garden - with MORE composts heaps than I have!!! Drat! Lots of veggie food too.

Right, I am off across the bay to the hut, then I think I will have a swim!!

Advertisement



15th March 2008

Back on line
Hi Lizzie P. I have re-subscribed so I received your latest. Walk sounds wonderful but more compost heaps than you? Really?? Cricket in Wellington looking good with two days left. Any pickies of the bum wiggle?? Love, John
15th March 2008

I shall forward your comments ..........
to Fred, who we have just spent the day with! You are obviously finding the most useful people on your travels! Keep it up ......
17th March 2008

wobbely or what
Just to remind you to pick some of those loverly green tipped mussles (that is if you are still allowed to do something as bad as that). There were loads of them all along the able tasman track.
17th March 2008

Green mussels
There weren't too many in evidence, possibly the wrong season? Theywere also telling us to limit the number of cockles to 50. However, walk done, bridge crossed, earthquake experienced here for me too and now I have to work out what to do with my swollen foot which did not like the spikes on the beach... ouch!
17th March 2008

Contacts
I shall give him your telephone number - there are so many things in his house that you have that I think the three of you would get on very well!
17th March 2008

Bum wiggle
No way - I was far too terrified to even think of getting out the camera! It is a case of real fear when I do that kind of thing. Heard about the Test on Totaranui beach and celebrated it with a bottle of wine last night.

Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb