Day 10: Walter Peak Farm + Lake Tekapo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
December 27th 2011
Published: January 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Gosh, I really have to be careful with what I wish for, am I? Every time I passed Lake Wakatipu (which is just right in front of my hotel), I was like “Hmmm… wouldn’t it be nice to jog along the lake? Must be fun rather than the regular cardio session in the boring office gym.” Well I got what I wished for! Again! I’m running and huffing and panting because otherwise I wouldn’t be able to catch the TSS Earnslaw boat that’s supposed to leave at 10.15. After my sunrise photo shoot this dawn, I catch some sleep and woke up late. From afar I can see the black smoke already starts to puff from the top of the vessel. And I don’t even have a ticket. But…of course, I made it! Just in the nick of time.

This morning I was torn between doing excursion to Walter Peak Farm or going back to Skyline Gondola to finish my walk route and Ziptrek that I didn’t managed to do earlier (read here for the previous story). But the sky was cloudy and pale. Realistically, I don’t think I would get a better picture anyway given the situation. So I went along with my original plan: visiting Walter Peak Farm! M, on the other hand – is enjoying his own itinerary on the other side of the town as I have planned this as our “free day”. Do whatever you want. Literally.

Now, I’m not exactly an animal lover. Ever since I got “attacked” by my neighbor’s hunt dog at the age of 6, I’m pretty much traumatized and tend to stay away from any 4 legged creatures. I LOVE taking picture of animals, as long as they are like 10 feet away from me. So I’m definitely not there to feed the sheep or anything.

But there is one creature in this world that I want to pet. Highland cattle. I saw them for the first time when I was researching for a trip to Switzerland. Unfortunately that trip didn’t happen (read: not yet), but my fascination towards Highland cattle still lingers. They are basically a breed of cow with brown-reddish color and long thick fur. Like a rocker cow! Really cute!

We saw them when on the side road when we left Hokitika, actually. But that family was sooo feisty that I couldn’t take any good enough picture (read it here). I’m intrigued by the ones they have in Walter Peak because in one of the brochure – there’s a picture of a child petting the cow as if it’s tamed. But after seeing how feisty their siblings are in Hokitika, I’m starting to question whether the cow in the brochure was tranquilized or something. I guess we’re about to find out.

After 45 mins cruise or so, the 100 year old steamboat dropped us at the Walter Peak Farm. First we were brought to pet several hyperactive young sheep. We were given food to feed the sheep. I’ve decided to just focusing on taking pictures. You know those sheep with black face and white/grey fur? Apparently their skin is black. I know because some already shed. After that we were serve a dog show – where she was suppose to herd the sheep on command. The dog was a bit naughty that day though. The guide, Peter, had to literally chase the dog to a small hill as she wouldn’t follow instruction at first.

Apparently it’s really not Peter’s good day. Because in the next session, sheep shearing, the big fat sheep fights back. She’s kicking and making all sorts of noises but of course eventually Peter can still finish the shearing although with struggle. I was a bit worried for the sheep safety actually. The blades can easily ends up where it’s not suppose too!

And then the moment I’ve been waiting for. Farm tour! Because this is where I will eventually meet my rockstar long fur cow. I skipped the deers, alpaca and baby lambs. Just focus on those three precious Highland Cattle. Apparently indeed these ones are already tamed and trained! We can just pet them without any worry. So happy! I’m still grinning scarily though when posing for the camera. Because their horns looked sharp! And they looked strong enough to bulldoze over the gate if they want to.

After a little bit of souvenir shopping for my closest friends/family and tasting the homemade cheese scones and mini raspberry pancakes, we headed back to Queenstown. The weather is still gloomy. I try to cheer myself; well it’s better cloudy now rather than yesterday or the day before. My paragliding and Milford Sound trip wouldn’t be as perfect without blue sky. I wasn’t sure whether I should still proceed with my next agenda, which is doing the Shotover Jetboat. After spending more than 1 week in NZ, I kinda feel paying 119 NZD for 30 mins speed boat ride is rather expensive. Plus, I can’t take any picture anyway when I’m on it. Plus the weather. Plus not sure about the time because I don’t want to be late to check in to the next motel (reception closed at 8). Plus my 12-scale-happy-moments seems irrelevant with how much money am I paying. Gosh, I’m making excuses for myself – a typical sign when I’m not sure about something. If anyone is interested to take the Jetboat though – this is their website: http://www.shotoverjet.com/ Looks like heaps of fun.

Met up with M who apparently had a great day. He looked happy after getting proper rest, tasty breakfast and wrote like 20+ postcards for his friends all over the world like he always does on his travel (although somehow I never received one from any of his trips). On our way to Twizel, we stopped over at Arrowtown; which was closed few days ago when we first visited. I want to buy some old time candies in this shop that looks interesting. And I was even happier when I found the perfect gift for my husband there! R, my husband – loves Shaun the sheep (the white sheep with black face) and loves chocolate. And I found NZ chocolate with dots of those sheeps on the cover! Perfect! Well, price is a bit high at 9 NZD. But oh well, in the name of love – I’ll take it!

The journey via Lindis Pass is beautiful in it’s own way. It doesn’t have the typical snowcapped mountains – but these hills/mountains are almost bald with round vegetations around it (sorry don’t know what’s the exact name). The road is curvy and you feel like the mountains just hugs you in between. It’s amazing! We also passed this Barley field which I’ve always wanted to see since I like the Barley drink. And there’s a nice surprise ahead. Several hills covered in yellow moss phlox! I only knew the pink version of it in Hokkaido, Japan. Never thought there’s a yellow version as well!

After checking in, we still have time before the sun is down. It’s summer here. So sunset is about 9.30 pm or so. Then we decided to head to Lake Tekapo which is about an hour drive. Apparently it was the right decision. The afternoon light just hits Church of Good Shepherd in all the right spots. Plus it’s quieter as well. No tour bus masses sprawling around so I can take picture with no people in it. Tried my new ND Grad filter at Lake Tekapo’s edge. It was suppose to “freeze” water and making it oozing around. A bit tricky though. I’m not entirely happy with the result. And my very important learning is next time, bought a higher quality filter, if ever.

And then M shouted from behind, and pointing to the sky. The sky is now orange burn! Really hot orange! It looks like fire was set behind the forest and the flames licks the sky. Wow, blessed with another pretty sunset… Lucky, lucky, lucky… Need to thank God even more often *smile*.

There was another itinerary that night, which was star gazing from Mt John. Based on other people’s picture I researched, it looks like a great addition to my portfolio. But looking at how tired we already are, plus tomorrow we need to hike Mount Cook; I think the smart thing to do now is just to take some rest… Nighty night y’all…

To view more of my travel pictures – pls go to http://www.flickr.com/photos/ariyanti_p/sets/72157628705874019/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 28; qc: 118; dbt: 0.1129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb