23. The NZ Permaculture Trail begins..


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
March 20th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post


So Dee and I said our goodbye’s to Sye, Marta, & Melbourne and made our way to Auckland. New Zealand has always interested me, especially from an environmental point of view. They appeared to be pretty good on that front, and I’d always heard that the scenery was jaw dropping. We had made the plan to hire a campervan and do a Permaculture Trail (this may not have been the most environmental choice I know, but unfortunately it was the most sensible option due to money and time constraints (that old chestnut eh? Yes yes.. I’m going to carbon hell, with the rest of yA ;c). We decided to go North first, then see how far South we could get.

We headed for The Bay of Islands first (through one tree point, Paihia, KeriKeri, Cooper’s Beach, and onto Ahipara ). We ended up chatting to this really sweet old Maori couple whilst parked up at Cooper’s beach. They warned us about gypsy pirate types further up north. They told us to be careful with our stuff, as tourists were being robbed up there. We took their advice on board, as well as their kind offering of beer and went on our way.

Some of you may have heard of the band Salmonella Dub (if not, go check em out ;c). A guy at the service station had told us that they were parked up at a place called Rainbow valley, so we went in search of them. Unfortunately we couldn’t find them, so opted to camp up next to a picturesque beach instead. Then, whilst Dee was cooking up the soup, a young gypsy bogen looking guy came galloping up the beach on a beautiful white horse. I thought I was hallucinating to start with, so decided to get out of the van and go and say hello just to check. The horse’s nostrils were puffing in and out, and it was dripping in sweat. It had on the most amazing looking saddles I’ve ever seen, proper Wild West looking, but with Maori patterns, a beautiful work of art. I asked what he was doing galloping around on the beach in the dark, and he replied that ‘they were training the horses for the rodeo’. His mate then appeared on an equally fine looking beauty. I was so tempted to ask if I could have a quick gallop, but the horses looked a tad knackered, and I prefer ‘em frisky! Plus, it’s probably not the best idea to go galloping off into the dark with someone else’s nutty looking horse (as much as I would have enjoyed the rush.

We spent the next hour or so chatting and hanging out with them whilst they waited for another two horses to turn up, and their other mate to pick them all up with the horse box. It all reminded me how much I love horses. They’re such majestic magical creatures, so strong yet sensitive.

The next day we drove up to the highest point of New Zealand along 90-mile beach to Cape Reinga where we went for a hike and did some sand surfing! It’s a crazy place. The sand dunes are huge! It’s like being in the middle of a desert at times. The size of the beach makes you feel like you’re the only person on the planet, a great place to scream. True wilderness.

We then made our way back down through Kaitaia, Ahipara, and Kohukohu just in time to get ferry over to Rawene. The scenery whilst driving has been overwhelming. I’m sure Dee’s is incredibly bored of me going ‘wooOOooow’. Seriously though, this country has the most incredible scenery I’ve ever seen. Some words that spring to mind right now are: wild, undulating, lush, vast, stunning, pure, raw, abundant, untouched, and serene. And we haven’t even been to the South Island yet.

I definitely feel like we are moving to quickly though. I’d much rather be cycling across this land, but unfortunately my time is limited due to precious commitments back home ;c)

~


Advertisement



20th March 2008

Hey
It's been fun reading your blog.
21st March 2008

Yo sisters!
Hey - sorry no catch up - been busy starting new job, new house, new car, new man. But hey ho.. all is slowing up. Do you want me to get in touch with my friends? My ex Johnny lives on the coastline between auckland and Thames, Jane lives Ohope beach next to Bay of Plenty and is off to see Jack Johnson this weekend. In the South Island I have a english mate Pete (Sauzee ex) whos in charge of an award winning vine yard in Malbourgh country South Island. Let me know. Sorry been slack, but as you can tell from all the above .. been a busy lil bee!!!! 07828 034420 or text me and i will skype you back from my mobile. Glad you are enjoying your time.. NZ rocks!!! Big love and can't wait to see you both on your returnXXX
26th March 2008

vehicles to be relocated
great blog! if you want to save a bit of cash the company Apollo often have vehicles to relocate from North Island(Auckland) to South Island(Christchurch) and vice versa. They even pay for the ferry so you only have to worry about the petrol. Call them to find out. Free number: 09 889 2976 Cheerio!

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb