New Zealand Cycle Tour // "Push Bikes"// Generosity & Hospitality of People


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
November 30th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a bolting around the bend of another hill, a began another vertical climb up what is known to cyclists as the "Whangapoua Hill", reaching 357 metres up in less than 10km. Based on these two pieces of information, one can gather the vertical stretch of the terrain - this is one of many thoughts which ran through my mind as I huffed and puffed my way this mamouth hill.

'How one earth do you know this information??' You ask?? Are there signs posted cautioning cyclists who expect to reach its peak?? Well, before departing Auckland, I picked up a wonderful guide designed for cyclists touring New Zealand: "Peddlers Paradise" by Nigel Rushton (He's a kiwi, or New Zealander). In the event this entry is read by a fellow peddler, or "push biker" as locals call us very friendlily of course, I recommend the purchasing this booklet. In fact, I scoft at the idea when it was first recommended to me.
Mostly an effort to explore the country for myself without the interferance of a guide.

Well, in combination with a road map, its proven to be a great tool. Cheers, Nigel!! The details above regarding the hill are represented as a simple linear graph - road gradients vs. road distances. It addition to this map, the author summarizes particluar attractions and available services at each village/ town/ city (e.g. accommodations and food services) - valuable information when planning!

After nearly one hour, overheated and sweating profusely from the humidity, I reached the summit of the hill and gazed upon the shore of the Pacific Ocean...It was worth the climb, especially since it was all down hill!!

It's remarkable the number of people who've been so generous along the way. Just name a few in the limited amount of time I have:

Thanks to David Stillaman, fellow cyclist, who received at his home for my first five days in Auckland when I arrived, introducing me New Zealand as I got my bearings and bought a bicyle.
Thanks to Shep or Coromandel who provided a bed the rest my head and fuel for the road.
Thanks to Bruce who introduced me to a lemonade fruit (different than a lemon!!) and allowed me to take some for the road (including grapefruit)
Thanks to Barry who passed me while pushing my bike up the hill, greeting me with an ice cold lemonade and a great big kiwi smile.
Thanks to Bryan and Anne Johnson, who've received me at their home for tonight - I'll leave the bike packed and start my day early tomorrow.
----- Cheers Everyone!! ------

In short, although the terrain has been a bit hilly along the way, the route today (along the northeast coast) has been more gentle. I'm presently writing this entry just north of Tauranga. I'll make an effort to keep up on entries - it's remarkable how many events/ experiences occur in 10 days!!!

P.S. Unique fruit-barring trees I've seen along the way:
- Lemons, Grapefruit, Lemonades, Oranges, Avocadoes, O____ (thank goodness I wrote it down..lol) - they all taste great!

The weather is warm, the landscapes are spectacular, and the people are friendly!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb