Waiting For Flights.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
June 23rd 2015
Published: June 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Kirkcaldie and Stains Ltd.  153 Years old.Kirkcaldie and Stains Ltd.  153 Years old.Kirkcaldie and Stains Ltd. 153 Years old.

My beloved store will always look beautiful as you drive up Lambton Quay. Even it it does have the name of David Jones on it.
Well. Today is the day we head off to Norway and guess what? There are delays on the flights but they tell us that we will make our connections. One thing about flying is that you find that you can't control things, so you just have to sit and wait. So at the moment I am enjoying a red wine sitting at Wellington Airport.

Over the last few weeks we have just been arranging every thing at home in preperation for being away for 3 months. Up and down to Hastings to spend time with the kids, gardening, odd jobs and just waiting to get away from the cold. Celebrated Jeremy's 40th in Hastings with a great party and, as always enjoyed the kids. Have done a lot of walking and enjoyed a climb up Battle Hill at Pauhatanui with my brother Nick. It is quite a climb but well worth while for the view. It is the site of one of the last battles during the settling of NZ.

One of the events that has happened in the last few weeks, it has been announced that my beloved Kirkcaldie and Stains has been sold to the Australian department
Good bye House.Good bye House.Good bye House.

See you in September.
store line, David Jones. Mixed feeling on my part, as while I feel it will be great for Wellington to have the first DJ's in NZ I am saddened by the fact that the name of Kirkcaldie and Stains will disappear off the streets of Wellington after 153 years. A great part of Wellingtons history and my history, as I spent 43 years of my life enjoying a very satisfactory time there. So be it!!!

So, now that I am in travel mode I will be trying to put a blog out every few days. Hope this finds every one in good health. Pip/Rod


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Deep discussion.Deep discussion.
Deep discussion.

Amy and Ella.
I'll Huff and Puff.I'll Huff and Puff.
I'll Huff and Puff.

And blow them all out. Jeremy enjoying his birthday.
Battle Hill.Battle Hill.
Battle Hill.

Nick reads all the history of the battle which this hill was named after.
Rest Time.Rest Time.
Rest Time.

Spectacular views after a good climb.


Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 92; dbt: 0.1075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb