20 minutes from home...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
June 1st 2011
Published: June 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have not been able to get far away to travel abroad for a year, however it has given me the chance to really explore New Zealand. In Wellington 20 minutes from the city is Makara (an old sealing town) with a rugged landscape with stoney shores.

I met a group of fellow University students to my horror had even heard of Makara. I frequently spend a day there, diving as the waters a pristine and heavily underrated. So we took our 20 minute drive and unloading our cars - from there we had a 40 minute walk across a flowing river and the a rocky shoreline.

I had booked off a local a little cabin that slept 8 - no power, no other people.

The walk over was a journey in itself, due to my lack of explanation about a river there crew were well under prepared. So one camera and iphone was ruined from water on the way across, however the views and the surroundings put some real perspective on their loss.

I will let the photos tell the rest of the story...




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The South IslandThe South Island
The South Island

The South Island from the North Island
PauaPaua
Paua

A real New Zealand dish, fresh from the ocean with chilli, garlic and coriander.


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb