Windy Welly


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
November 28th 2009
Published: November 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, wellington. After an early hours pajama fire evacuation, i woke up to the whole bus having left for the south island, and an absolute gale blowing outside. It is notorious for the wind here due to the location and shape of the harbour, but walking head on into the wind made my eyes water!

what the hell am i doing here - alone? i was in shorts yesterday getting burnt. This place sucks.
After i had had my morning paddy and a very long moaning phone call to brighton, things started to look up. Apart from the fat canadian in my dorm room who spits all over you when he speaks. Great.

So i checked out the Te Papa museum, which holds the largest Maori collection in the world, and it was pretty cool. I am falling in love with the maori history, its really gentle and very imaginative with their mythology of warrior hills falling in love and fighting over women. No tv could certainly do that to a quiet evening in by the fire!

i now have 3 aussie surfers in my dorm too, angels sent to save me from the spitter, and am meeting my lovely danish lady for dinner. Just wish the wind and rain would stop. I will keep you all posted as i am sure you are just dying to find out.





Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb