December in Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
December 28th 2005
Published: December 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

For the last few weeks while I've been in Wellington I've allowed myself to totally feel at home in the city. As well as working hard, there's so much to explore, so I've taken time out to visit the zoo in Newtown, discovered the open-air swimming pool in Thorndon, and tramped up Mount Victoria to some magnificent views. Venturing further afield I took the train to Upper Hutt to picnic next to the River Hutt and rummaged around Jackson Street in Petone. On the west coast I travelled north as far as Paraparaumu, through Porirua with its harbour and hope to go back to Mana in the next few days to find out about the possibility of snorkelling there. I'm also making my way through the list of cafes, bars and restaurants listed in The Rough Guide and giving them my own ratings!!! Christmas for me was a very quiet time, exactly what I was hoping, and I took advantage of the free bus service and travelled to the surfers beach, Lyall Bay, strolled the coastline past Houghton Bay and as far as Island Bay, where the strong wind was sand-blasting the back of my legs on the south coast. Christmas dinner was a very laid back barbeque at a friends house in Oriental Bay with skewered shrimps, vegetable patties and a handful of mince pies. All washed down with a few Stellas of course!! I've been spending quite a bit of time with an American guy, Walter who has moved into my room at Percival Street in my place. (Three days after putting up the ads. was quicker than we were expecting!!) For the time being I've got a huge double bed to myself, until Bonne and Eugene return from visiting family in Christchurch and then I'll stay on the 'couch' for a night or two. I'm looking forward to the New Year as I've booked a ticket for the ferry across the Cook Strait to the South Island on the 2nd January, with my first night in Picton. I'll catch up with you again soon, thanks for all of your Christmas messages and best wishes for 2006.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Pohutukawa tree Pohutukawa tree
Pohutukawa tree

Blooms like this in time for Christmas


Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0972s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb