Didn't stop in Hamilton for long


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
October 9th 2005
Published: October 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

TomoniTomoniTomoni

Looking cute
Erratic spring showers in Auckland left me at a bit of a loss at what to do on Monday. It turned out to be one of those aimless wandering days, dodging the downpours and generally observing hostel life.

In the evening I was accosted by a shy Japanese girl called Tomoni. She had only just arrived in the country and felt quite threatened by not being able to communicate and actually envious of fluent english speakers around her. Her weapon of attack was a simple electronic word convertor. It proved to be invaluable. I succeeded in explaining to her to not be afraid to ask for help in all aspects of daily life. She proved her confidence by asking another girl in our dormitory where to buy water! Although late, she was hungry and I accompanied her to the local corner shop. (She had only ventured out of the hostel once previously but had become scared and ran back.) This time she was comforted by the fact there was a japanese flag hanging outside and even though I didn't think two ice-creams to be a particularly healthy diet, she seemed happy!!

Back at the hostel we built up an
Waikato River in HamiltonWaikato River in HamiltonWaikato River in Hamilton

Good riverside walk
understanding relationship and she made a couple of beautiful origami forms, explaining their meanings as she folded, and drew basic japanese words for 'tree', 'human' and 'paddy field', as well as the symbols for my name!!!

I made sure to leave my e-mail address for Tomoni, before leaving early the next morning to lumber my stuff up to the Sky City Terminal, catch a bus to Hamilton and hope that I might hear from her again one day.


Why didn't anybody tell me not to bother staying in Hamilton??? Following directions down Victoria Street, when I eventually found the YHA hostel there wasn't anyone available at the reception. That's useful!!! Instead I checked in for two nights at somewhere called The Flying Hedgehog and it was really grim. I met a woman who wore a fushcia pink shell suit (the same outfit/ghastly make-up for 3 days) and insisted on calling me "dear"!!




In Hamilton there's the pretty Waikato River, lots of students milling around, one main street of shops running through the length of the town and not a lot else. Luckily Kiwi's love pies so I tasted a Jesters 'Pavarotti', spent time
HamiltonHamiltonHamilton

Felt like I was in America
browsing in the local library and surfing the 'net.

Again a decision had to be made. How far south do I travel this time? At only $66 (the equivalent of about 25 quid) for a nine hour journey I opted for the excursion down to the capital city, Wellington. The scenery was spectacular. It was definately worth it to see some amazing views of the country, mountains, lakes, sheep with lots of spring lambs, cattle, wild horses and birds of prey and for the first time I felt confident that NZ will live up to my expectations. That this is why I came the other side of the world.

I like the buzz of the city in Wellington and I hope to stay here for a while. On arrival I went for a beer and a curry with a friendly German girl called Sabine. The following night we met up again to have a full-on night of drinking, meeting locals and dancing 'til late in an Irish bar.


I've been seeking permanent accomodation, looking 'round all sorts of houses, and handing out my CV to secure work. I'd rather not work in one of the touristy bars if I can help it but there's certainly loads of places advertising for staff.

Wellington's got a great arts scene, there's restaurants and theatres, museums and parks, and a cool view of the harbour from the top of the cable car ride. However it's incredibly windy and I'm getting used to the changeable weather conditions and glad I packed my gloves!!!



My cameras battery power has just faded into non-existence so I'll download some more pics onto my next blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb