Spiders and Claymation


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
October 4th 2005
Published: October 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dear Everyone,
Hello!! Well I have officially been here for nearly 3 weeks now. It feels like a lot longer. I feel like I have settled in really fast which is nice. My furniture that I bought at the Salvation Army has all arrived so I have now actually unpacked everything. I have yet to recieve my boxes which I mailed to my friend Rhyan 2 months ago. I expected this though, last time it took me 2 and a half months to get boxes of clothing and books that I sent to myself last semester.
Getting to know my flatmates has been wonderful. They are all really nice people and I feel completely comfortable here. I love my room and the location of the flat is ideal. Last week I worked on building claymation sets for the latest Shihad ( that's NZ most popular band) music video. It was fun, just like being back in school working on a studio project. I was using the belt sander to sand down blue foam which consequently is now on and in everything I own. I built two skyscrapers out of blue foam for a scene in a city. There were only 5 of us working on the video so I was able to talk to the other people and get to know them which was awesome. The director was very nice, he would pick me up from my flat every morning and then we would drive to the studio.
I had to sign a confidentiality agreement about the video so I can't really say much more but I think that it is going to turn out really well. The studio I was working for is called Stone Street Studio and it is a subdivision of Peter Jackson's company, Big Primate Productions. We were filming in the area that was used for the Lord of the Rings wardrobe department. I saw a spray painted sign saying Frodo waz here. I became quite giddy about that.
For now I have been looking for part time work in some shops that are close to where I live. Early next week I am going to meet a woman for coffee, she works with alot of the productions around wellington and she says that she may be able to help me get some more permanent work in film. So I am excited about the meeting because I think it will be positive.
I am having such a wonderful time here that I am almost fearful that something bad is going to happen to balance everything out. The only negative so far has been the increasing amount of large spiders which enjoy residing in hard to reach corners of my room. This morning I saw a large grey spider crawling across my floor, usually I try to just put the spider outside, ( actually I get one of my guy friends to do it) but I don't enjoy killing the spider. I feel that it has a right to live, just not near me. But this spider was crawling rapidly towards me so I grabbed the nearest shoe and threw it at it. When I went to investigate the bottom of the shoe I found no trace of the spider, which leads me to believe that it is now residing either under my pillow or in my hair.
Hope that all is well with all of you, Much Love Emily

Advertisement



4th October 2005

blue & spiders
Hi Emmie, loved your newsletter, laughed out loud at the end with the "residing either under my pillow or in my hair": so very Emily. I hope you were wearing a mask when you were sanding the blue foam. Even UNCA's sculpture teacher who is very lax, requires the masks for the foam ...very toxic to breathe. Love, Mom
5th October 2005

your journal
Emily, I just now had a chance to read your journal. We just got back from our European tour. We had a great time. I am not sure how to work this comment thing. I may should be sending an email instead. I love your journal. You really write well and so expressively. Keep it up. Love, Libby

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb