Better Late Than Never


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
October 1st 2007
Published: October 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

"Under the table there is a stack of chewing gum" - Swiss/German tongue-twister

Some of you guys know me really really well, some less well, but all of you probably know me enough to realise I'm not late; to anything, ever (i blame my mother for this). This morning i had my first shift at Midnight espresso at 8am to train up and see how they do things. I'm not sure what happened with the alarm clock, but i woke up at 8.45 and i wasn't happy. I got to Midnight at 9am and they weren't happy either. I groveled and muttered about my alarm clock and she gave me another chance to come in again tomorrow. I will make sure I am there this time
This is especially funny because i spent all week trying to decide if i should stay in Wellinton for a couple months and then go traveling, or visa versa. The job at midnight was one of the deciding factors in me staying, so it looks like if my alarm clock fails again tomorrow the universe will have spoken and my decision will be remade for me.

This week i have been mostly
- Learning how to screen print
- 'Tramping' (walking in the wilderness)
- Reading (Naom Chomsky is a legend)
- Learning how to make non-tomato based curries
- Cooking or thinking about the next meal i'm gonna cook
- Drinking beer
- Going to critical mass bike stuff
- Eating vegan cake and drinking massive quantities of tea

It's strange, i've been occupied all day every day, but now i sit down to tell you guys about it, i forget it all. But, we did drive an hour out Wellington to the 'glow worm caves' got to the road we knew it to be on, but drove up and down its 5km four times entirely failing to find this large and well signposted attraction. So just got out the car and wondered around the impressively windy fields for a while.

I promise, i promise, i promise i will put up my photos soon. Hopefully later today, sorry its difficult to be organised when you have no internet at home and have to organise internet time with other shopping time.

For the most part i've enjoyed the 3 or 4 weeks i've been away, but there has been the odd day here and there that has reallt sucked and i've wondered why i came out here. Right now i'm feeling good and i'm more worried about getting everything possible into this year that i can, rather than anything else. Wellington is a really amazing city, with so much going on and so many oppotunities that i really don't want to leave right now and not take advantage of them all, but i don't want to not see the country either. However, I'm sure i will go traveling properly when my friends come see me.

I should probably keep a personal list of what i do, so i don't just rambel on these things and actually tell you what i do. Hmmm, till next time, Chris xx

Advertisement



5th October 2007

Random
That blog is perfectly random, I love it. Glad to see your joining us folks who spend all their time thinking about food:D I'm hungover at work so I'm reading this instead of working! x
7th October 2007

Good Good
Hey honey, nice to hear you're jut wombling abut in NZ. Things sound like they're shaping up just fine so don't panic about making the most of your time- you will, and there will be plenty of opportunities to do even more than you dreamed possible. Things here are .... ok. I'm in London with MArn at the moment having a lovely time but I had a turbulent evening with Simon last week- lots of booze, throwing up and a late night. Zark is ponying about being his usual dude self and cheering me ap and trying to keep me on the straight and narrow!!! Work is good but the bank is being a total wankshaft of an organisation, making things really awkward and incredibly difficult for me, but i shall fight them with everything I've got and some of the things that i haven't and everything will be fine. Good to hear you've got yourself a job and a band- listening to you shouting and screaming and being a front man would be an interesting experience. Oh, don't wait for uas to come out- I meaqn, me and Alice are still obvoiusly coming out to see you along with lots of your other friends I'm sure, but don't wait for us to go exploring; go crazy on your own too!

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb