Long awaited update


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
July 7th 2005
Published: July 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Shelly in Welly!Shelly in Welly!Shelly in Welly!

I love Wellington!
Kia Ora everyone!

I apologize for the long break in updates. Been waiting for pictures from friends. A lot has happened since we've last 'spoken'! I thought it best to just give a quick over view of the highlights. And include lots of my pictures with captions.

I’ve been getting to know Wellington a little better- walking around everywhere still, trying to understand the city. Last weekend was INSANE here. The Rugby game was in town, and even Prince William showed his face! I felt like a true kiwi (wannabe really) shouting at the game on screen! The all blacks of course won, and it made for a crazy night on the town of capital city, NZ.

On Tuesday night- my flat mate Liz cooked an incredible kiwi dinner for all of my flat mates and Rachel and Christian’s girlfriend, Nicole. Dinner was amazing- great food and wine and 'bubbles' and lots of laughter and conversations. Christian and Nicole are teaching me German! haha- Allo, My nama ist Shelly. (sp?) And Dist Liben ist shun (sp?) = Life is good. I really love my flat mates- and where I live. My room is lacking in style- I need
All Blacks gameAll Blacks gameAll Blacks game

Some crazy all blacks fans and rachel and me - see the kiwi, and the lamb
photos from home and posters. but that will come in time. Everyday goes by and I feel a little more at home here- even though HOME is So far away and I can feel that it is distant at times. but hopefully after I have a certain visitor(s) here I can feel more like I have a piece of home here in NZ.


Living in international housing is such a bonus for this experience. I am meeting not only Kiwis but people from all over the globe. I constantly think I live in a sit com- I mean, A German, a Canadian, A Kiwi and A crazy American all under one roof? just nuts. I love hearing stories about other cultures and traditions. last night I stayed up until 3 am with Christian and he showed me all of his photos from Germany. it was so fun, even with the language barrier, we're becoming friends. he’s a great guy, and his girlfriend is such a sweetheart. great people, great times here at Wai te ta.

Today, Lauren and Rachel and I walked to Te Papa, the NZ national museum. AMAZING. they call this museum the Smithsonian of
LionsLionsLions

Lions fans from the U.K! they were not sore losers:)
the southern hemisphere: its Such a fantastic place to visit. very interactive and colorful- check it out at www.tepapa.govt.nz


I signed up for the Tramping (hiking) club here at Vic Uni and the ski club and the kayak club- so yes I will be traveling gosh darn it. and I WILL see all the hot spots of NZ. no doubt. Next weekend, I am hoping to check out Mt. Taranaki. about 4 hours away from Welly.

This weekend, starting tonight Rachel and Lauren and I are making some dinner and watching Whale rider- a NZ movie about Maori culture. It’s a great movie, beautifully done. After a whole day of walking the city I am beat. We ate lunch at the AbreKaBABAb on Cuba st. a savvy little Turkish bistro- I've never had a kebab, and I must say I enjoyed my falafel burger! 😊

We found a quaint little bookstore here in the city- unity books. it’s got fabulous NZ books there, and it’s unique because all around the store are little post it notes and index cards with handwritten reviews by other patrons, suggesting great reads and books that changed their lives. it’s a
Irish Irish Irish

We even stumbled across the Irish!
personal touch I love.

Well, I think I should end with a lot of pictures for you all to see- More updates to come later. Welly is good, I miss all of you, hope all is well.

cheers, shelly



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Downtown Welly Downtown Welly
Downtown Welly

this is crazy- this big chair just sits downtown and we decided to sit on it and ttake a photo. touristy I know.
Out after RugbyOut after Rugby
Out after Rugby

Lauren, jen, rachel and I went to Sandwiches after rugby on saturday. its a great bar.
Flat dinner1Flat dinner1
Flat dinner1

Nicole, Rachel, and chris before dinner!
Flat dinner 2Flat dinner 2
Flat dinner 2

rachel and i at the table, I love Lamb!haha
Flat dinner 3Flat dinner 3
Flat dinner 3

Liz and christian making some Kai (food)
Caving wet suit Caving wet suit
Caving wet suit

The group in the Caving outfits, before we descended!
post Zorbpost Zorb
post Zorb

lauren and rachel adn i with the Zorbing guy !
welly eveningwelly evening
welly evening

over the harbor from Uni
over the beach with bubbles over the beach with bubbles
over the beach with bubbles

Lauren and rachel and I on top of the waterfront with our bubbles


10th July 2005

Koooooollllll (again!)
Hi Shell!! I'm home now and am soooo glad to see all your fun pictures!! Am happy you and your new friends are living and playing together so well!! LOve to you sweetie~` SWAK! Mommie

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb