Welcome to the Windy City


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
February 11th 2007
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I must start right at the beginning: the bus ride down to the southern tip of North Island. I have to say, and I really cannot believe I am actually going to use this word, but it was just AWESOME! I'm so glad I decided to do it by bus, rather than fly - it gave me such a great feeling of the size and diversity of this magnificent country. The first part of the journey from Rotorua was just over an hours run south to Taupo-as we were a quarter of an hour ahead of the scheduled time our driver stopped the bus for us to get a look at the Huka Falls, not very high but still rather impressive. The next WOW was lake Taupo - NZs largest lake and on such a beautiful clear day it was a sight to behold. Sorry you'll have to wait a week for the photos!!
Then we drove through theTongariro national park, past some beautiful mountain ranges and plateaus. The last hour was along the Kapiti coast. It took 8 hours all in all (including a lunch break), but they passed very quickly indeed.
Getting out of the bus in Wellington, I soon realized why it's known as the "windy city" - because it is windy! Freezing southerly winds can make a beautiful summer's day feel rather nippy at times. Thankfully they calmed down today, but isn't it weird to think of southerly winds as being the cold ones? I still can't get used to the fact of thinking upside down!

After a shower and some supper I headed for one of the theatres to see a play called "Backwards in high heels", which is all about how learning argentinian tango affects the life of a middle aged couple. Loads of dancing and super music - right up my street!!

Today was anabsolutely wonderful day, perhaps the best yet. In the morning I met up with Mel, the daughter of one of mum's college friends, who has been living in NZ for 8 years now. Mel and her little girl Annamie (at least I think that's how you spell it) spent almost all day with me, showing me round places I'd never have been able to get to on my own. We drove along the coastal road, went up to 3 different view points (many photos again!!!), had coffee and ice cream on the beach and then headed to what must be one of the best national museums ever: Te Papa. It's a huge complex that caters for all tastes, showing exhibitions and more hands on approaches to the wildlife of NZ, geology (including an earthquake experience house), Maori life and history, the story of immigrants and what it was like in the early days of the european settlers. The building itself is also stunning, sitting right by the harbourside, big windows allowing gorgeous views. It was great being shown round by people who live here and are keen to share their enthusiasm for the place. Thank you Mel and Annamie!

Tomorrow I'll be ferrying over to the south island, so keep your fingers crossed that this weather keeps up!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



11th February 2007

Yo Bro
Glad to know that the trip south is going well and that Absolutely Positively Wellington was a great adventure. We have yet to taste Te Papa, so Joy and I will have to get down there this winter. We have started painting the house now that you have helped clean off the cobwebs of seven years, weather here on sunday was hot hot hot till mid afternoon, then the clouds and wind came in to cool us all and today (monday) is overcast, wet and cold, Ah well, there is always tommorrow, cheers, Martyn
12th February 2007

how am I going to earn my keep when I come back, if you're painting the house without me boyo?

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb