Leaving


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
July 5th 2005
Published: July 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Quitenote: The rugby tournement night turned out to be the biggest party the country has seen in 30 years.
Not a whole lot to add as of yet, but just thought I'd write a short bit while I'm waiting here. Kelly just went to get the rented car and we're about to take out towards the Hawks Bay region to a town called Napier.

We celebrated the fourth of July as best we could yesterday (we're one day ahead of you guys). There's only one American pub here and it's called Chicago's. But...staying true to American tradition on the 4th, IT WAS CLOSED. So we settled for an Irish place that had cheap beer. It's really weird...besides myself, Kelly and Sara, I havn't seen one single American.
I'm actually pretty jealous of all the people I know that are out at green river right now goin nuts. That was always the best way to celebrate the 4th.

Anyways, Kelly's back with the car. This is really her first time driving on the left side, so I'm hoping for the best. You'd think it would be easy, but NO...it's confusing as hell. Riding passenger, you forget after a while and then you'll make a turn and suddenly freak out because you're on the wrong side.
Not just the roads are backwards...everything is backwards. I bought a new jacket and even the zipper is switched. weirdos.

I'll update again when I actually have somethin to say.
Thanks for the comments everyone I appreciate them!

Sammy Joe

Advertisement



4th July 2005

You are a great one!
Though it all seems wierd, or "is" wierd, I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your of your experiences and thoughts!!!! Have fun, Sammy Joe, and keep the news coming. Tell the girls that I said, "Hello!" Be happy and safe!!! Love ya, Sugar
5th July 2005

WHOA! Kelly driving on the opposite side of the road... if I were you, I'd a let her take a little test run alone first ;) haha Just Joking!!! Sounds like you guys are having the time of your lives! I'm jealous! This 8-5 crap is for the birds! Keep in touch - this travel blog gives me somethin to do during those boring work days! Take lots of pictures and enjoy yourself! Love ya and BE SAFE! =) P.S. I don't think Joseph has any connection to the internet right now so I am going to print these puppies off for him to read! haha

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb