Worm


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waitomo
March 3rd 2020
Published: March 7th 2020
Edit Blog Post

I spent the last ten days or so with an older couple in their massive house in the woods. I did a lot of painting and some concrete-wheeling for them, but generally, I was just vibing. Two families of wild birds would come visit twice a day, and I Love Them. I really enjoyed staying with them.
They both are lovely, and I kind of already miss them. Now I'm headed for Raglan, I guess.

I saw some glow-worms today!
On the way to Raglan, we made a stop in Waitomo, and I decided to do a cave-tour, because i love rocks for some weird reason.
It was a good cave. Saw some rocks. Saw some bones.
But also! Glow-worms. They are bio-luminous maggots; the tour included a boat-ride in the complete darkness of the caves to Observe The Worm.
It was quite impressive! It looked like someone had ripped off a piece of the night-sky and sewed it to the ceiling of a cave-system instead.
At the beginning of the boat-ride you couldn't see shit, not the dude next to you and not even your own hand, but by the end, our eyes had adjusted to glow-worm-only lighting-conditions. Enough so that we made the way back out of the cave without any extra lightsource. It was lit! (Pun intended)


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb