Getting hitched


Advertisement
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've rediscovered the joys of hitch-hiking. It's something I used to a lot, with Zifey, my good old travelling buddy - we once got all the way from Ukraine to London. Ah, the memories of crazy experiences... Anyway, I digress. I haven't really done much for years - just the odd short trip - but from Rotorua I wanted to visit a volcanic park 25Km outside town and then head on to Taupo. Without a car, there's no way. So hitching it had to be.

Apart from the first ride, which took a while to get because it was raining (and no-one wants a damp tramp in their car), it's been great. I got down to Napier just in time to gatecrash dinner at my old friend Raymond's house (which deserves a blog entry all of its own as soon as I can upload a photo of it). Today I got all the way from Napier to the Tongariro National Park in three rides, and met some interesting people on the way - and not a single one of them has tried to kill me yet!

I was down in Napier avoiding the rubbish weather in the mountains, and I'm back up now to take advantage of a one day window of opportunity to do the Tongariro Crossing tomorrow. It's spectacular, apparently.

Advertisement



15th February 2008

Not sure about that......
....are you sure hitchhiking is safe? I know that I worry far too much compared to most people but hitchhiking is perhaps not the safest form of transport ever. Take care! What's the Tongariro Crossing? Ok now googled and there is even a youtube video about it. Looks pretty fabulous. Hope that you had a good hike.
23rd February 2008

Well, I'm never sure anything is safe but hitchhiking seems to have been OK so far. I just wouldn't do it in the Bronx.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb