My Bad Things Come In Threes


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
June 5th 2008
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's true, bad things do come in threes! Here we go:

1) Woke up on time, though Kelly slept through alarm, i hate having to wake people up! Went to catch bus....its broken. "What do you mean its broken?!" Now apparently there was a diesal leak and the driver didnt want to set off. Come on, whats the worst that could happen...oh...right! We were told to come back in an hour, so we went off and had a look around the shops. Note: we couldnt really find a good shopping street in the centre, where are they?! On return to the bus, the mechanic had been, but had taken a part back to his shop to be fixed and would be over an hour, come back in 90 mins. At this stage bit annoyed, but what can you do, so we went online and then just hung around. We went back, still not fixed, just wait. So we did, another hour, before we finall left! However, in this time we did get free pizza and toast at the hostel, which i wasnt complaining about. Bad thing number 1!

2) This late departure meant that we were not going to get to Taupo before dark. What is so bad about this? Well, it meant that I couldnt do my sky dive. Bad thing number 2! Not much to say about the journey itself to be honest, the least spectacular journey in a while if i am fair. Well not until the last section of it anyway.

3) My reasons for stopping in Taupo are for the skydive, and to do the tongariro crossing. One of the worlds most spectacular walks, taking 8hours, but well worth it. This is number 2 on my list of things to do in Nz, therefore very important. So, imagine my horror to be told on the approach to Taupo that the crossing was shut until at least sunday (the day I leave) because of a weather front coming in. ARGH!! THIS CANNOT BE HAPPENING! Seriously, joking blog aside, I am actualyl gutted about this. I have been looking forward to this literally for about 7weeks, and even more so having done the glacier (number 1 on the list!). I would love to wait the weather out, but i just do not have the time. I am really really gutted, but what can you do, thats the weather.

So that is my bad things for the day. This could well escalate to four if weather cancels a second attempt at a skydive tomorrow...I hope Mum doesnt read this before then! Possibly my shortest blog, but there is really not much to say about a day of waiting and driving. Well except that I just cooked chilli-con-carne, and it was brilliant! AH, WAIT! There is a bad thing number 4!!!

4) The spa at my hostel is broken...can this day get any worse!!

Advertisement



5th June 2008

now i know.
just read your latest. i am laid up with my foot in plaster being really good because the consultant said i had to. enjoy tomorrow if weather is good. sorry today wasnt such a good day for you.dave and clare arrive tomorrow for weekend they had meal wiyh ali in leeds last night. two weeks today ypu will be home!!!!! lots of love mumxxxxxx

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb