Taupo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

practising before entering the cavespractising before entering the cavespractising before entering the caves

we paid for photos so have quite a few....
On the Way to Taupo we also spent a night in Waitimo. this is a tiny village but famous for it's glow worm caves.
We did a day trip into the caves which included abseiling into the cave, tubing/walking along the cave to see the glow worms, a little bit of crawling through the caves, and then rock climbing back out again. The trip was really fun but so tiring, beining cold and wet fro about 5 hours straight was v hardwork!! Thje glow worms did look pretty cool though!

Anita and I planned on doing a skydive when we first got to Taupo but the weather was awful and so it was cancelled. We stayed overnight incase it improved but the next day it was even worse and the forecast was the same for the next few days so we decided to go to Napier, on the East coast, for a few days and hopefully give the weather time to improve.

Rina wanted to Bungy jump so before we left we all went to watch and cheer her on. When we got there on the spur of the moment, I think because the skydive had been cancelled that morning and I had hyped myself up for doing something fun, I decide to do a jump too!!
I was a bit of a whose and took ages to jump.. and then when I finally did do it I jumped feet first. I think I probably did spoil my experience slightly.. It was still v fun but I think I expected a bit more and so if I did it again I’d def try and make myself dive, try I add!!

Napier is a couple of hours drive away from Taupo and is a really nice town. It was destroyed by an earthquake in 1931 and so was all rebuilt at this time in an Art Deco style so is quite famous for this. We stayed in a retro converted motel and it was v quite and lovely. The past week had been v hectic so it was nice to stay somewhere a bit more chilled.

While there we decided to have our own little winery tour, so one afternoon we went to visit a couple to taste (for free) their wines. The two we went to don’t export so we can’t get them at home but they were all v nice and had lovely locations, the weather was beautiful too so it was a v nice afternoon.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb