Taupo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
April 19th 2007
Published: April 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes....Sometimes....Sometimes....

a good old American style hot dog is all you need in life.
I have less than three weeks left in New Zealand which is longer than most people take for a a years worth of holiday, but to me it feels like the beginning of the end.

My last stop is a town called Lake Taupo which is a lot like Lake Tahoe except on a smaller, New Zealand scale. I work at the Rainbow Lodge hostel in the mornings cleaning and changing beds in exchange for a room. Scrubbing toilets is painless compared to looking at myself in every mirror, in every room. I work a few evenings a week at an Irish Pub in town. It makes me miss my Bar of Baltimore days. Lucky for all of us, it's no longer in existence. I've also been babysitting for my boss's 3 year old son Oliver on occasion and I must say I prefer the demanding company of a three year old to many of the drunken pestering patrons at the bar.

I've been here at least two weeks and I'm happy to stay put, chat with guests in the homely hostel living room, drink tea with my English roomies and gather tidbits about the Maori culture from
My new Irish friend SarahMy new Irish friend SarahMy new Irish friend Sarah

last night out in Taupo
the doormen at the pub.

I'll leave here with about a week left in the country and stop in a few key spots before flying out of Auckland May 3rd. I'm really looking forward to my time in San Francisco with my cousins, aunt and uncle and to my trip driving east with my dear friend Emily. It's strange that when I land in California, Ill have another month of traveling before I actually make it "home home". I'm getting quite anxious to visit with my Dad, check in with my brother and give my Mom a hug and kiss good night. I'm finally done applying and researching various summer jobs and am now just waiting to see what falls in to place. It looks like I'll be on the east coast for the summer and perhaps beyond....but no promises!! 😊

Until then, I'll be breathing in my last few weeks of total freedom, breathing out as the beginning of fall creeps into the air and trees, perfecting my bread making techniques with the guidance of helpful German backpackers, and pouring pints for the thirsty customers of Mulligan's.

Love, HUGS, and Light to all of my loyal readers and friends


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Rainbow VanRainbow Van
Rainbow Van

used to make runs to the bank and pick up and drop off lazy travelers from town
OliverOliver
Oliver

My charge.
Mulligan's Pub StaffMulligan's Pub Staff
Mulligan's Pub Staff

on Friday the 13th.
Complaints DepartmentComplaints Department
Complaints Department

Not my fav picture of me but I thought you all had to see this enormous crew of doormen.
ReceptionReception
Reception

at the Rainbow


20th April 2007

Happy to see the new journal.........
And it's interesting to see how you are relaxing into the place. I guess that's what happens when you stop feeling compelled to take every tour and see every sight. Keeping this journal is the best record you could have kept of this trip and the photos (and they are beautiful) will help you relive your experiences. You can go again or maybe some other exotic place will capture your fancy. For right now everybody is dying to see you and have you back home. Love you lots. Esther
23rd April 2007

New zealand
Hi Emily, I thought that since you only have 3 weeks left in New Zealand, I definitely need to send you a comment. Jamie is doing this geography bee at school and whenever my mom quizzes him on NZ we always think about you and how much fun you are having. See you soon back home. Love Katie
27th April 2007

great new photos
Finally we see the gorgeous lake and where you've been working. Looks like fun. Cute kid. Only one week to go...........so exciting. To quote The Duke...........love you madly. Have a safe trip. Esther

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb