Day 61: Palmerston North to Napier


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taranaki
January 29th 2011
Published: January 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Palmerston North's SquarePalmerston North's SquarePalmerston North's Square

It was all squares (and rectangles.)
Rather sadly, I said goodbye to Sue. It was time to leave; they needed the houseroom, but I was tired of travelling and homesick and I longed to go home. It had been good to be part of a family for a few days, even if it wasn't my own.

There were 50-mile-an-hour winds all the way to Napier, and the bus swayed disconcertingly. It hurt my shoulder. We drove along the very edge of a steep gorge, with a lovely whitewater river in it. On the other riverbank, there were train tracks and the occasional tunnel.

We stopped for lunch at a Country Cafe in Matamau, and I had an excellent lamb pie. Only two restrooms were available, and one was the restroom of a motel unit, opened up for use by the bus passengers.

When we pulled out of Matamau, the driver said that we would be crossing the Taranaki Plains, and that the winds were likely to get worse. He asked if anyone wanted motion-sickness bags. I took some, in case; I'm a good sailor, but some other kinds of motion can make me ill very quickly, especially a whirligig. Luckily I did not need
RiverRiverRiver

Not the one in the gorge
them.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

RiverRiver
River

The one in the gorge. Note the train tracks.


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb