The Count Down continues


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » New Plymouth
August 16th 2011
Published: August 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

WinterWinterWinter

New Plymouth Foreshore Walkway
Today I took the time to visit a friend and buy some of his personally carved green stone necklaces to take with me and give to my hosts/hostesses in England, something uniquely New Zealands as a keepsake, a thank you for their kindness for opening their homes with me. For them I also bought some soap, made with Rotorua's mud and minerals and for the ladies also a Thermal mud pack each also.
Some of Rotorua's finest.

This amuses me greatly as one of the things I first had one of these fine English peeps on about was the average Kiwi diet. Where I waxed lyrical about how delicious (as well as other things) the huhu (beetle) grubs are, just poke around in some rotting wood, till you find these finger sized fat delicacies (by the way they wriggle a lot but cant hurt you). Light a fire, find a stick to skewer the grubs to, kebab style and then carefully roast these grubs over it , till slightly crisp, smoked and chewy on the outside and like creamy peanut butter on the inside .......mmmmmmmmmm.

So to turn up with a Mud soap and a beauty product when most others normally would wash mud off , not wash with nor plaster their faces with Mud, (for goodness sake), really does tickle my funny bone!

I do hope they like my thoughtfulness.
lol


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.8kb