Bonus blog – Things I want to do when I get back…(in no particular order)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Napier
February 16th 2012
Published: February 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1) Have a bath (bored silly of showers. Lush stores all over the place selling bath bombs, but no bloody baths to put them in. Dagnam it…)

2) Do my washing – properly. None of this 20 minute toploader malarkey. 2 hours, full cycle, clothes blast. With fabric conditioner n all…

3) Do the creep on the front drive…for those of you not in the know, this is the crazy walk the whole family does on the drive at Mum and Dad’s, to the bemusement of the neighbours but much to the amusement of Isla and Jake.

4) Have my hair done with my Vicky (check – a day of catching up, peroxide and Edward Scissorhands arranged for 29 March J )

5) Open my wardrobe and pick my clothes and shoes for the day, rather than have to live off a few tshirts and a pair of flip flops (and not even the flip flops half the time…)

6) Go to the Beachcomber with my girlies for a boogie and a giggle (check – arranged for 29 March after hair has been done– whoop!)

7) In fact, just have a few big nights out, or indeed in, with my mates – I’ve missed every single one of you. Even Steve…

8) Watch football at a decent time of day

9) Just watch some decent telly full stop!

10) Buy the box set of The Wire on Bluray. Jimmy McNulty has got me through some hard times on this trip!

11) Use the internet without it costing me $4 an hour…

12) Wash my hair in nice expensive shampoo – which is still cheaper than buying Herbal Essenses in the supermarket here

13) Go to Poole to see Melissa – check, organised for 20 April. Civilised wine drinking – none of this goon lark

14) Sign back on at Sumo World. Last few weeks living off crisps and bread taking their toll on my thunder thighs

15) Go to skittles (though admittedly the team has done so much better in my absence – may well be dropped ad infinitum…)

16) Go to London to see the TW lot; to meet baby Cripps; and to drink lots of wine with Amy (there’s a theme here…)

17) Be dumfounded by how much both the baby Islas have grown up; likewise Holly and Meg

18) Get a new phone – the UK one I have has disintegrated (Gabbi – you’d be proud, I kept hold of the Aino and it’s lasted all the way round), and the Aussie one is locked. Neither of which are very helpful right now…

19) Go to the doctor’s – they’d better have an hour long appointment ready for me. I’ve been saving up my illnesses to avoid paying medical fees while away…

20) Have one of Mum's amazing Sunday roasts

21) Eat decent chocolate (this, and no. 14 do not work so well with no.9…)

22) Go to bingo – I’ve no idea why. Just want to go. Maybe it’s just to feel British again. Still, bingo is called for. Clare – you’re organising!

23) Load my dinner plates in the dishwasher. Man, I miss having a dishwasher (no, I don’t mean Mum…)

24) Have coffee and a gossip with Anna

25) Get on the karaoke with Mark

26) Buy a bicycle – now that I’m over the fear (nothing like cycling in Bangkok to cure you)

27) Go on the school run – missed a spot of playground gossip. Will need to start gloating again about the next lot of holidays…

28) Go on holiday again – check. Weekends away with Lauren and the kids sorted, Cyprus in October about to be sorted. Yippee!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb