mostly geothermal


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hawkes Bay » Napier
February 23rd 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

GeothermalGeothermalGeothermal

The area between Rotorua and Taupo is the active geothermal area..Not big on this but it was worth the stop.
February 23rd

OK, It has been a long day but I feel I should make a stab at an update. From the Mount I continued my journey south. Rotorua, to Taupo with a stop to look at some geothermal sites. Even though these generally are not my cup of tea, flat white, long black or any other options I have to say the park I stopped at south of Rotorua was excellent. To a more important topic, the coffee. Never having been to Europe I don't know what the cafe scene is like, but I have to say I am loving this!! If Starbucks hadn't run this whole thing into the ground in the US I would be tempted to open a New Zealand style Cafe in Kansas City. If I don't do anything in the morning I make my way to the closest cafe for my morning cup. So I made it to Napier and an uneventful evening doing laundry. Next day is a little rainy and so I decided to find a wifi spot and do some blogging. Well...2 hours and a $40.00 parking ticket later you would have been looking at one very frustrated guy. By mid
Geothermal 2Geothermal 2Geothermal 2

Champaign pool
afternoon I decided I had seen enough of Napier. Every day has a silver lining and this one came down the coast at Zappers home town of Clive. I found a beach side camper park got out my bike and went for a ride. Kim Crawford was her name and by the time I had sampled several of her better reds I was on my way back to the campervan for a night of reading and sipping.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Geo 3Geo 3
Geo 3

As if you needed a sign. Gee I thing I'll just wade in this little pool.
last geolast geo
last geo

Thought this was kind of a neat image. Area is about 4 square feet
NapierNapier
Napier

some art deco
Napier IINapier II
Napier II

Original main street is now a walking mall
Napier IIINapier III
Napier III

Another street view


Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb