Battle for the Streets


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Paeroa
February 22nd 2009
Published: April 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Battle of the Streets Battle of the Streets Battle of the Streets

Curve to the finish line
Sunday February 22, 2009

Up about seven, I picked up, cleaned up. Glenda came by for coffee and to check out my itinerary for the next few days then I was off to Paeora for the “Battle of the Streets” motor cycle races. I pulled out of the drive to Dylan’s refrain,”for the times they are a changin”, and they certainly are.
New Zealand has some serious bikers! And I’m not talking about the boomer weekend warriors in the U.S. out riding their Harleys. HD has made some penetration in the market but it is dominated by the big three Japanese bike manufacturers. I don’t know what was more exciting the races or all the bikes that roared by me on the road to and from the race! Got there about eleven and by 3:30 I was hot and had a little too much sun so I headed for Tauranga and the Mount. This is a fantastic port city. It truly is much more than a seaside resort. My camp site is a publicly operated park and only cost $15 a night for a front row location on the ocean. I went for a walk, saw a free Internet
Sidecar "bike"Sidecar "bike"Sidecar "bike"

Sidecar Really fun to watch these guys
sign and stumbled in. Much to our mutual surprise the young girl I approached is also American, escaping a winter in Montana. I bought a flat white, which I now know is a latte and she set me up on the computer where I sent my first blog report. Unsuccessful at finding Zappers number I sent her an e-mail with the hope she would see it before I leave town. Reading, walking…to sleep.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Battle of the Streets Battle of the Streets
Battle of the Streets

Faster on one wheel?
Staging areaStaging area
Staging area

What would racing be without a little T&A


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb